The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food­processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty year study. Recently, food­processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument presents a claim based on a number unwarranted assumptions. The grounds on which salicylates has been claimed to be beneficial for use as flavor additives, appear short-sighted and irrational. Besides, the lack of sufficient evidence to corroborate the argument, further renders it incredulous.

To begin with, there is nothing in the argument that validates the feasibility of salicylates to be used for treating headaches, just like aspirin. Although it might be from the same chemical family, yet salicylates may contain subtle differences in its chemistry that might make its functioning significantly different from that of aspirin. It is known that even minute changes in the arrangement of atoms or molecules generate a whole new behavior of elements and materials. Hence, without being aware of the exact nature of its chemical constituents and properties, one can hardly assume the functioning of salicylates. Valid proof is necessary to substantiate the presumption that salicylates work in the same manner as aspirin.

Secondly, the argument cites a study where participants reported a decline in the average number of headaches. This has been correlated with the rise in the commercial use of salicylates in foods as preservatives. However, no accurate investigation has been incorporated in the argument to validate the assumed relation between the increase in salicylates with the decrease in number of headaches. It is possible that the latter is brought about by other factors like yoga or meditation, rather than the higher intake of salicylates. Besides, whether the cited study was conducted uniformly across all strata of the resident classes in Mentia, is not confirmed in the argument. If the study was confined to only a few households, the results would not be representative of the whole of Mentia. It might be so, that the respondents never suffered from any headaches in the past, or had negligible instances of such problems. In that case, the intake of salicylates had nothing to do to lower their headache, since they actually did not have any in the first place. Hence more authentic proof of the credibility of the study was necessary to corroborate the claim.

Third, the argument postulates that with the use of salicylates as flavor additives for food, there would be a further decline in the number of headaches of Mentia residents. However, without any proof of assurance that this practice would not instead affect the health of the residents adversely, the claim appears putative. There are no citations of any examination reports or physician’s approval for the incorporating salicylates as food flavors, that gurantees its safety. It has been already stated that salicylates are used as preservatives. Even if it indeed caused a decline in headaches, using the same now additionally as flavoring agent might be unsuitable. It might cause side effects other than deteriorating head aches.

In conclusion, the argument would have been benefitted by a liberal incorporation of evidences and proofs that might have contradicted the doubts regarding its cogency. First, it should have contained a a valid proof that the salicylates work in the same fashion as aspirin, to corroborate its role in subsiding the headache problems of Mentia residents. Second, the argument should have cited how the study was conducted to give us an insight into the nature and to verify the reliability. Third, the argument could have benefitted by stating how the use of salicylates as flavoring agent would help alleviate the problems of headaches further.