In each city in the region of Treehaven, the majority of the money spent on government run public school education comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the value they place on public education. For example, Parson City typically budgets twice as much money per year as Blue City does for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. It seems clear, therefore, that Parson City residents care more about public school education than do Blue City residents.

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the proposed spending of government fund on public education in Parson City and Blue City. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Furthermore, given the lack of necessary evidence to corroborate, the argument appears fallible.

To begin with, the argument states that it is the majority of the money that is spent on public education that is underwritten by the taxes collected by the city governments. It indicates that public education is supported by means other than government taxes alone. Hence, the public schools in Blue City might actually be significantly financed by these other means, such as private donations. Without being explicit regarding the budget aggregation for financing Blue City’s public schools, it appears impudent to conclude that the city cares less about its education than Parson City.

Furthermore, the argument does not elucidate the distribution and the number of public schools in the two mentioned cities. It is possible that Parson City possesses an appreciably higher number of public schools than Blue City does, as a consequence of which it needs to budget “twice as much money per year as Blue City” for its schools. It is possible that Blue City has more private schools which of course need not be financed by the city government taxes, that does not necessitate financing public education in the same way as Parson City. It is absolutely irrational to make a cogent comparison with the lack of information on the number of public schools in both the cities.

Thirdly, the argument fails to state the demographics of both the cities that could have otherwise bolstered the claim. For instance, the argument does not mention whether both cities have equivalent number of residents who have school going children. It is likely that Parson City have a greater number of young residents attending their public schools, while Blue City consists of older residents like working people, or college or university going students, etc. It is possible that Blue City is primarily a business oriented city that features more of corporate or job centres than education institutes. Anyway, because the argument fails to document these necessary details, the claims seem fallacious.

In conclusion, the argument makes several unjustified and irrational assumptions as it compares the two cities and points out one as being more interested in public education. Had the argument contained substantial evidences on the accurate spending of the two cities on education, it would have been credible. Besides, the lack of any data on the number of public schools and the population of school going people in the two cities makes the comaprison putative.