Claitown University needs both affordable housing for its students and a way to fund the building of such housing. The best solution to this problem is to commission a famous architect known for experimental and futuristic buildings. It is common knowledge that tourists are willing to pay money to tour some of the architect's buildings, so it can be expected that tourists will want to visit this new building. The income from the fees charged to tourists will soon cover the building costs. Furthermore, such a building will attract new students as well as donations from alumni. And even though such a building will be much larger than our current need for student housing, part of the building can be used as office space.

The above argument is based on a number of fallible assumptions and unverified claims. The stated option of commissioning a famous architect may not be the only option available. Infact, it may not be even viable to hire such an achitect. Taken as a whole, these unstated claims render the argument fully suspect.

To begin with, the argument assumes that a new building modelled by the famous architect is the best solution to arrive at a consensus between providing afforadable housing and funding the construction of it. However, since the argument fails to ellucidate the pros and cons of alternative options, it appears that the latter were not investigated to full measure. For instance, it might have been a more reasonable option to construct a building by raising money from private donations from patrons, philathropic organisations who fund academic institutions, clubs or allumni associations of the University, or even through fee increments from students and collaboration from faculty members. Since, the money is to be utilized for a genuine reason, students and the other mentioned sources would probably not hesitate to offer the required fund. Hiring a famous architect and then creating a structure that can attract tourists to the the extent that they will to pay in order to visit it, will be expensive. It would be draining on the universities budget that could have been otherwise invested in academic developments. Without investigating the other options, it is irrational to be fixated on one lofty, but seemingly improvident option.

Secondly, the argument states that tourists are willing to pay money to tour only ‘some’ of the architect’s buildings. It is quite possible that the building the architect creates for the University is not among his bests and it fails to draw any attention from the tourists at all. Because, the argument implies that the university is needs to accrue funds to cover the building costs, it is apparent that it lacks the necessary amount to invest in a noticeable building. Without the required funds, the architect is unlikely to create a very sophisticated, state-of-the-art design that can be a tourist destination. Besides, highly intricate designs would be necessitate expert structural engineers, and workers which would again involve a tremendous strain on the university’s budgets. Even with tourists and donations, it will take a considerably long time to cover all its costs.

Moreover, the argument states that such a building will space much in excess of the required amount. Since an office space is not cited as a major requirement, the extra space is all but necessary for the moment. As such, a smaller building constructed within the budget and financial contributions of the university is a much more pragmatic approach to solve the immediate issue. Besides, there is no gurantee that the planned bigger building can garner enough attention from tourists, or whether in fact they will pay. There is also no assurance regarding how the new students or alumni organisations perceive the whole idea. It is likely that their donations are not enough to cover the expenses.

In conclusion, the argument fails to consider certain critical factors. The assumptions and expectations appear vague and superficial, because of the absence of substantial evidence to verify the claims. Had the argument incorporated data on how it arrived at the said solution as the best, or whether it had even considered alternative solutions, the claims would have been more credible and cogent.