Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I would agree to both the views partially. It is not uncommon for some to argue that poiltical leaders are meant to be solving people’s problems and hence must yeild to public opinion even if that means to let go of his/her principles. After all, they are elected for that very purpose – to serve the public concerns. Yet, this view overlooks the importance of the leader adhering to the principles that form the foundation of the latter’s actions. While leaders must be flexible and approachable to the public, they however must also be principled to an extent that they are able to effectively address the concerning issues. History of mankind is testimony to the fact that leaders would not have led countries to victory, had they not stuck with the principles. But again, being too unshakable on certain issues would prove disastrous. So effecctive leadership would have to rely on the middle-ground between the above two views.

The greatest dilemma standing in the way of effective political leadership is to figure out when to be flexible and when to stand firm on the principles. I do not concur with the first view that argues the leader must always compromise and abandon principles. This is a blanket statement that does not consider the consequences of the leader being too pliant. Although it is understandable that the public would like the leader to listen to them and fulfill their needs, yet in the instance of an ever compliant leader, some fringe sections might take advantage of the situation. Besides, it will be totally unscrupulous on the part of the leader to yield to all sorts of demands. We have instances of successful presidents like Churchill and Truman who never yielded to the Soviet aggressions during world war II and ensured the position and security of the USA throughout such turbulent times. We need leaders who can hold their principles. On the other hand, Mahatma Gandhi never let go of his resolve to fight the British Raj in India, through non-violent means. He never yielded to the appeals and demands of the extreme factions within Indian National Congress to employ violent means, even if that meant loosing some key members in his fight. What Gandhi achieved was total independence and that too, without causing much of a dent in the population numbers. Had violence been employed as a strategy, Indians would have been easily defeated and crushed under the might of the British and independence would have remained as an illusion.

A leader who does not change or who does not even listen to changes, is however unhealthy for a system to thrive. Such an attitude will cause irreparable damages. Lets take the instance of Hitler and his generals. On the face of imminent defeat, Hitler’s constant denial to listen to his generals finally brought him his downfall. As the German army kept getting smaller, Hitler continued to hold on to his belief that the opponent would be intimidated by the vehement tenacity of the German army. Repeated advise of his Generals fell on deaf ears. Finally Hitler was proved wrong and Germany was shamed for his actions for years to come. Sticking blindly to the principles would do much more harm to the citizens, than good.

Some sections of the society believe that a successful leader never looks back and never compromises. Often when a leader compromises, he or she is viewed as weak or as being defeated. However, the truth is, the leader needs to compromise and adapt to changing reality to earn the benefit for his people. Herbert Hoover in his days in office, was widely lauded for his principles. He was told to be the best president by many who knew him personally.Yet, when the great depression crippled the USA, his unshakable principles came in his way to deal effectively with the depression. Instead, it was Franklin Roosevelt through his pragmatic approach and flexibility who guided the country through two greatest crisis of the 20th Century. Roosevelt was a leader who was adaptable and volunteered flexibility in his ideals. Hoover did the opposite and ended up as a failure. Thus consistently being principled is harmful.

In conclusion, I would say political leaders cannot succeed through tough ideals and convictions alone. Nor making too many compromises would grant any benefit to the public they serve. While leaders are required to have firm principles to guide them in effective governance, yet they are also required to adopt a pragmatic and flexible approach and must yield to public opinion, to solve certain issues. While there might be certain issues where compromise on ideals is necessary to ensure the safety of the society, standing firm on principles would also be sometimes required on others. Thus, there are various types of situations that might arise and the responsibility to tackle them either through principles or by compromise, depends solely on the leaders. Besides, being too pliable or too unshakable on issues have their own demerits. So effective leadership would have to depend partly on both the presented views. That is, by efficiently deciding which approach (compromise or principles) to apply on what kind of issues.