The following appeared in a magazine for the trucking industry.

"The Longhaul trucking company was concerned that its annual accident rate (the number of accidents per mile driven) was too high. It granted a significant pay increase to its drivers and increased its training standards. It also put strict limits on the number of hours per week each driver could drive. The following year, its trucks were involved in half the number of accidents as before the changes were implemented. A survey of other trucking companies found that the highest-paid drivers were the least likely to have had an accident. Therefore, trucking companies wishing to reduce their accident rate can do so simply by raising their drivers' pay and limiting the overall number of hours they drive."

The argument presented in the above editorial appears to be based on a number of flawed assumptions. Most importantly, as it attempts to draw parallels between Longhaul and other trucking companies, it overlooks a cardinal factor that the Longhaul incorporated to reduce its accidents – training to its drivers. Moreover, the argument seems to ignore other probable factors that might have caused a decrease in Longhaul’s accident rates. By failing to elucidate on the background factors and by not corroborating the claim through convicing data or evidence, the argument appears to lack cogency.

First of all, the editorial states that the Longhaul company had incorporated three measures to ensure a decrease in the accidents. So apart from raising their driver’s pay and limiting the overall number of driving hours, Longhaul also increased its training standards which might account to be the pivotal reason behind their lower accident rates. However, while the argument stresses upon the first two factors as a way to reduce the accidents of other trucking companies, it hugely ignores the training as a significant incorporation.

Secondly, the argument overlooks a sizeable number of probable factors that might have contributed to Longhaul’s success. At the very beginning, the argument does not discuss whether certain phenomenons for instance, road conditions or poor road safety legislations might have been other reasons why the accidents occurred in the first place. It does not elucidate whether Longhaul benefitted by incorporating the three measures, or because of improvement in the road conditions or better traffic law enforcements. Besides, it might be possible that the accidents occurred on a certain route and apart from incorporating the three measures, Longhaul had simply avoided the accident-prone route. Furthermore, there might have been only a few culpable drivers who needed training or a better pay after which they started to drive safely. In that case, the suggestions stated in the claim might not be necessary for all the drivers in a trucking company. Besides, it might be possible that Longhaul simply cut down on its truck numbers which might be a reason why its accident rates plummeted.

Apart from the above two points, the argument mentions other surveys that indicate highest-paid drivers are less likely to have an accident. Right at this juncture, the argument fails to expound whether these surveyed drivers were paid high because of their experience in the field, or only to incentivize them to drive safe. If they were paid in terms of experience, then naturally that would be a valid reason behind their lower likelihood of having an accident, since any experienced driver would know to driver safer than an amateur. Additionally, the other trucking companies might have enforced superior training to its drivers.

Hence, by only judging the pay scale and the number of hours of a few successful companies, the argument looks prejudiced to favour the drivers of other trucking companies such that they are paid high or relieved from long working hours. There is no assurance that by limiting the hours of driving, a company would not encounter any accident. If the drivers continue to be reckless and lack traffic sense, or if other factors like the road conditions are not improved, then it is unlikely that a high pay or a limited driving time would impact much. In conclusion, the argument would have significantly benefitted by providing data or evidences countering these unexplained points and to corroborate its own claim.