The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Armchair Video, a chain of video rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Armchair Video's ten video rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our special bargains. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any film released more than two years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Armchair Video stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

The above argument made by the owner of Armchair Video consists of a number of overlooked flaws. The suggestion made for enhancing the profits has been based on several unwarranted assumptions, which if proved otherwise, would seriously impair the argument. Besides, the lack of sufficient evidence or supporting data undermines the cogency of the argument.

To begin with, the owner seemingly ignores the possibility of optimizing the operating expenses to compensate the losses, by employing more economic methods for the same. This can be brought about by prudent management of resources, employees, and contacts. Instead of resorting to reduce operating hours, judicious management strategies to curtail the operating expenses could have been explored. The owner fails to discern that reducing the working hours or increasing the prices could both distance the customers, which in turn would jeopardize the profit.

Furthermore, there is no evidence to suggest that the declining profits are brought about by higher operating expenses alone. It is possible that despite the special bargains, the video quality of the company has been deteriorating as a result of which, there is a dent in the sales. There might similarly be other factors for reduced sales, such as poor customer service, etc. If indeed such circumstances prevail, then profits cannot be expected to rise by only reducing the operating hours. Instead, thorough quality checks or other innovations would be more helpful to enhance the profitability.

The owner cites an example of one of their stores in Marston that witnessed fewer customer complaints after implementing the policy of reduced working hours. However, the author overlooks certain crucial factors that might have lead to the same. First, because of the reduced hours, the store might have actually recieved fewer customers than usual. Apparently, this would imply fewer complaints than usual. Second, lack in collection of films older than two years might be another reason of reduced customers, who would have bought these movies. Either way, the owner fails to consider the fact that reduction in customers might actually be the reason of lesser complaints in the Marston store. Besides, the lack of mention of whether the profits have increased due to the new policy, leaves one dubious regarding the efficacity of the policy. Furthermore, even if the store had more profits due to the policies, even then it is never guranteed that other Armchair Vedio stores in all the rest of the places would have similar rates of success. Every other place might have different types of customer behavior or requirements and hence, by employing one strategy for all places might not yield equal profits. Thus, the whole idea of increasing the profitability needs more deliberation and analysis to implement.

All in all, the argument is wanting of several factors. The owner ignores critical points while examining the profitability of the stores. Had the owner provided convincing evidences corroborating the strategy suggested for increasing profits, the argument would have been cogent and sound.