Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

It is not uncommon to expect the corporations to contribute for the societal and environmental well being. In fact, corporations do owe a moral obligation to fulfill these aspirations and give something back to the very system they operate within. However, the primary aim of any corporation is to make money. Without profits, neither can any enterprise sustain for itself, nor can it contribute for the greater good of the society. Hence, monetary profits form a cardinal goal to accomplish both their corporal and non-corporal responsibility. I am in concordance with the second view for the reasons dilated below.

To begin with, given that financial gains are a necessity to ensure the viability of an enterprise, having profit-oriented goals for any corporation is therefore a justified and reasonable entity. Only if the organisation is on a stable ladder and is able to garner profits, can it aim to deliver a wholesome contribution to the society. There is an unstated assumption in the notion that if corporations are meant only to make money, they will be too profit-centered and be remiss in addressing their societal obligations. However, it is to be understood that only with money can any corporation extend its network, involve better experts for optimum and upgraded productivity, plan for philanthropic activities, partner with bigger and more prominent establishments that will help in raising its standards of business, recruit more employees, train them to achieve excellency, and so on. All these activities are in some way or the other delivering to the society and the environment. For instance, hiring experts and finer machineries to enhance productivity, implies better product standards and more consumer satisfaction. With extra profits, corporations can build schools, training centers and health care centers for the surrounding area. They can train unskilled people of the society to serve in their own organisations. This boosts employment and upgrades the general lifestyle of the society. Thus, during the chase for more money, corporations are somehow benefiting the system they operate within. Fulfilling the social and environmental responsibility is thus a concomitant aspect of the corporation’s primary goal of amassing profits.

Secondly, any profitable corporation enhance the economy of the entire nation. It contributes to the GDP and with foreign partnerships, it can bring in global investments. Once foreign investments surge, the country will be economically stronger. The people will have access to more jobs, more opportunities. With greater opportunity comes better, healthier, modern lifestyles. Moreover, having more productivity within the nation obviates the need for imports, that not only drain on the economy but also renders the nation a debtor to some other nation. Hence, having a well planned and strategic profit-oriented policy benefits the nation at large, makes it self-sufficient and strong.

There would obviously be counterpoints to this argument, in that some corporations deteriorate the environment, that with more expansion comes the issue of deforestation, displacement of people, loss of habitats for species, pollution, and so on. Additionally, there are constant reports of corporations exploiting their employees, or failing to meet the safety regulations in their products which in turn endangers their consumers, etc. While these unfortunate situations do arise time and again, yet it is again wrong to hold the whole collection of corporations for the negligence and unlawful activities of a few. While corporations do need to clear lands and shift people to make space for establishing factories and industries, yet there are though environmental laws that circumscribes the extent to which to do so. Additionally, these laws also check pollution. Apart from regulating environment, there are laws that check the type of product produced, the quality and the feasibility of consumption. Thus, as far as corporations operate within the law, any progress or expansion for enhancing profits by the corporation, should not be viewed as irresponsible or illegitimate. Besides, because corporations rely on positive consumerism for their success, they are inherently motivated to satisfy the consumers, and the society or the environment that allows them to profit.

In essence, it is the moral duty of any corporation to contribute for the greater good of the society. But to do the same, it needs to have monetary profits for its own sustenance, in the first place. Only then can it think of philanthropic activities for the society. Apart from that, corporations benefit the society even without philanthropy, such as in the form of educating, training, uplifting the health, and lifestyle, alleviating the problem of unemployment, etc. But for all this to continue, it will need to have money or profits. Hence, the cardinal goal of any enterprise should be to amass profits, because the good work is possible only when the capacity to do so, is present.