The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight ­training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument appears to be based on several unwarranted assumptions. While emphasizing on the profit probability in the new area, the vice president overlooks certain crucial factors determining the same.

To begin with, the VP of Health Naturally assumes that their profits maximize in areas consisting of health conscious residents. However, the argument fails to elucidate whether the profit in these areas has been the result of its health conscious inhabitants or because of the unavailability of similar stores. It is quite likely that in areas where Health Naturally stores sustain losses or marginally low profits, there are already a raft of similar outlets, clubs, gyms and other related facilities. Under such circumstances, the people would have access to wider range of choices and the said store would not contribute to much and hence would not profit. Besides, Health Naturally is supposedly a small health store chain and in case of co-existence with bigger brands in proximity, chances are that it would be overshadowed by the

latter and residents would naturally prefer the more prominent over the lesser known, for a factor as serious as health.

The VP also ignores the possibility of the price of the store’s products, which might contribute in distancing customers at certain places. Even in the presence of highly health conscious residents at some places, the store would never profit unless its products are reasonably priced to suit the interested consumers. The VP also fails to mention whether their products have been tested thoroughly for any anomaly or whether they can be safely consumed without giving rise to any side-effects. It is likely that residents in some places or under certain climatic zones are unfit for consumption of Health Naturally products. Hence, even if they would have otherwise liked to, they would not consume these products due to their unsuitability.

Furthermore, while speculating upon the profitability of the store in Plainsville, the VP ignores to consider whether the residents would even consume their health products. Since the residents are already exercising and having access to a myriad of extant health facilities, they might simply not feel the necessity of consuming health food or related products from the an apparently lesser known, health store chain.Even if that is not the case, there is no evidence to corroborate that the residents are not already having access to similar and more popular health stores. Either way, setting up a new Health Naturally store would prove to be injudicious and would not be profitable if any of these conditions prevail.

Moreover, the VP states that the local health club was ineffective till a few years back due to lack of business. This would lead one to ponder whether the recent surge in health consciousness is only evanescent for the time being or whether it will last the same or has the possibility to even soar in the future. If the health consciousness is rising due to a certain occasion or season and its statistics are likely to fall back, then Health Naturally clearly has no future in Plainsville.

Finally, had the VP given sufficient proof to eliminate the doubts arising on the quality and cost of the store’s products, the argument would have appeared more cogent and convincing. Additionally, any negative report or evidence on these two aspects would have seriously undermined the argument. Furthermore, any analysis on the presence of similar or more prominent health store in Plainsville or a prediction on the future of such facilities in the area, would have been beneficial for an approximate examination of the profit probability of the store in that area. Also, a survey on the customer behavior and preferences for health facilities would have been helpful to estimate the profit more closely.