Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and

the reason on which that claim is based.

The major cities of a country are usually the seats of its cultural, economical and political dominance, and home to celebrities and stars. Needless to say, they are the biggest, most habituated, busiest and the liveliest places in any nation or state. Hence, they garner the most attention from governments and general citizens, alike. However, they are not the only centres of cultural traditions of the whole nation. In fact, some remote societies do not even possess any major city, for example the hill tribes of North East India, the gypsies of Mongolia, etc. Moreover, throughout the world there are a number of towns or suburbs that are abound with rich history, culture and art and none of them fall in the category of a major city. Therefore, it will impartial on the part of any Government to concentrate financing only the major cities with the claim that they preserve and promote the cultural traditions.

First of all, very few nations have had a single unique culture among its populace, all throughout its history. Most countries of the present day are a motley of rich historical and cultural diversity. India, China, the whole of Europe, Latin American nations, have all had many different rulers, absorbed a huge variety of traditions, had many capital cities, and are now replete with a myriad of indigenous cultural groups scattered all about the respective countries. The major cities of today are not representative of the cultural vivacity prevalent in a whole nation. Some of the most historically and culturally rich places are not even known much outside its boundaries. For instance, the capital city of Brussels in Belgium might be the most prominent hub, yet a silent city called Bruges features an abundance of medieval architecture and history, was home to an exuberance of art and cultural heritage. It is also called the ‘Venice of the North’ and happens to be the place where Micheangelo’s ‘Madonna and Child’ is located. Despite the prodigious cultural presence, Burges is not a major city. Another instance can be drawn from one of the most unexplored and silent North East Indian river island of Majuli. It is dubbed as the cultural capital of the state of Assam, and happens to be the world’s largest fresh water island. The idyllic river island is resplendent with a number of major festivals throughout the year, vibrant art and Vaishnavite culture. Yet, it is not even a city and remains to draw enough attention from the Indian government. So if Government of India finances Guwahati (only major city in Assam) for its development, it would do little to protect and promote the opulent art and culture in Majuli. Guwahati, thus is not representative of the whole of Assam. The governments should therefore disseminate equivalent funds to all the concerned places if they intend to preserve the cultural traditions.

In addition, history of the world is testimony to the fact that some of the most culturally vibrant indegenous tribes and civilisations never had any major city. The nomads, the gypsies, steppes, the hill tribes of North East India, some African tribes were more of wanderers until they settled in the places they now inhabit, in the nooks and crannies of certain countries. Their cultures and traditions do not lack vibrancy. The only asset they never possessed is perhaps a cultural hub to call their own. If the Governments around the world finances the major cities by reasoning that they are the centres of cultural civilisations, the cultures of these indigenous tribes would never be represented. They would gradually die out causing a disturbance and a void in the cultural diversity of that particular nation.

Moreover, if the governments focuses their funds only on the major cities, attention to the other vital sectors like agriculture would be compromised. Agriculture is one sector which is not feasible within a city and is mostly carried out in the suburbs. With the lack of equity in fundings, the agriculturists would gradually leave their trade and move to the cities, causing the problem of urbanisation in the cities and pauity of food in the country.

There is of course no doubt that the major cities house the most important art galleries, museums, sports centres, studios, theaters and provide huge opportunities to artists of all types. Yet, this alone should not be the reason for these cities to be the most funded places. There might be places of even greater cultural dominance which might contain unexplored talents and budding artists. The governments must therefore meticulously examine and employ careful and uniform funding practises to all the concerned places for an optimal growth in the nation.