In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past

achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are several factors that might influence success or significant contributions in a field, for instance, education, the upbringing of the contributor, the inherent resolve to contribute, and some amount of luck and vicissitude. The fact that the founders or inventors of any field of endeavour were presumably informed by one or many of these factors, drives us to arrive at the notion that past achievements in a particular field are not really a requesite to impact a significant contribution. While there are obviously certain fields that necessitate thorough training and dedication whereby the a contribution is influenced by past styles and achievements, yet again the very styles that are emulated, date back to a certain contributor who invented the style. Hence, one cannot agree wholly with the given statement without first examining the history.

To begin with, not all significant contributions were impacted by past successes. History is rife with examples of innovators, scientists and autodidacts who had no scope to be influenced by the past achievments in their fields, and yet their innovations, strategies, or styles made prodigious contributions. We are aware that microbiology is a highly preferred subject today that has substantially served the world with their expert researches and discoveries on genetics, microbes, biotechnology,to name a few. However, it was Leewenhoek, a cloth merchant and an autodidact, who invented the most fundamental equipment, the microscope that made these researches and discoveries possible. Leewenhoek observed microorganisms with his hand made microscopes and discovered a world that was never known to man before. He is called the “Father of Microbiology” for his inventions and discoveries. His contributions were driven by curiosity and not by any past achievements in microbiology. Similarly, Charles Dickens is deemed by many as the greatest English novellist of all times. His unique style has been emulated by both aspiring, and conversant writers throughout the ages, all around the world. However, Dickens was an autodidact who could not afford education because of poverty. Again, Dicken’s contributions were influenced by passion and not by his past contributors. Thomas Alva Edison, Alexander Graham Bell, Ramanujan are all other examples of autodidacts whose contributions were not influenced by any achievement in their pasts.

Additionally, it is not always the past contributions that might influence significant contributions. In fact, there are instances in history where people were instead dissuaded by past activities or ideologies and it was their inner resolve to right the system, or the school of thought. Buddha, Christ, Phophet Mohammed, were all people who desired to contribute for the growth of a peaceful, egalitarian, stable and holistic society. Their contributions were not influenced by past ‘achievements’, but rather from the failures of the extant societal systems and discontentment of their fellow people. Gandhi’s successful non-violence strategy that bought freedom to India after two centuries of subjugation by the British, was not inpired by any past strategies of the like. No country and no state prior to India had ever won or received independence through entirely non-violent means, and nobody believed Gandhi’s method to be efficacious either.But it was Gandhi’s own policy and faith, his inner resolve to fight so. The idea f non-violence was not emulated, inspired and influenced by any former strategy. It instead, influenced others like Martin Luther King, Jr. in his Civil Rights movement.

Of course there are fields like STEM that requires one to master the existing knowledge in that field, to be able to make worthwhile contributions. While these people are trained to be perfect a skill, they will inevitably be influenced by the past achievements of their predecessors. However, even in such fields we have successful entrepreneurs like Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg and Steve Jobs who were drop outs and who apparently followed their own distinctive styles and passions. These people were not discoverers or innovators of Computer Science engineering or programming, but were innovators of their own schemes. They were not influenced by any of the past achievments in their own fields, simply because there were none of the kind. Each of them wanted to do something new in their fields and they chased their own, unique, approaches and predelictions.

In conclusion, a significant contribution is not made possible only by past acheivements in a field. The pages of history contain a surfiet of examples where people made enormous contributions even in the absence of any past examples to follow or be influenced from. Many a times, it is curiosity that leads to make a contribution. At other times, it is the growing discontent and the urge to bring about a change, that leads to make a contribution for the betterment of the society. Many of such contributions were not tried and tested back in the past. They sprung from novel ideas and thoughts, and seldom from past achievements. Hence, it is not impossible to contribute significantly without any past influence.