For the past five years, consumers in California have been willing to pay twice as much for oysters from the northeastern Atlantic Coast as for Gulf Coast oysters. This trend began shortly after harmful bacteria were found in a few raw Gulf Coast oysters. But scientists have now devised a process for killing the bacteria. Once consumers are made aware of the increased safety of Gulf Coast oysters, they are likely to be willing to pay as much for Gulf Coast as for northeastern Atlantic Coast oysters, and greater profits for Gulf Coast oyster producers will follow.

The above argument is based on a number of unstated assumptions. Together with the lack of accurate data to corroborate the claims, the unwarranted assumptions render the argument incredulous and putative.

To begin with, the relation that the argument devises between the intent of the consumers to pay twice for the Atlantic Coast oysters, with the discovery of bacteria in a few Gulf Coast oysters is unjustified and wanting. There might be reasons other than just the one stated in the argument, that are likely to draw consumers to pay more to have them. For instance, the Atlantic Coast oysters maybe found to possess significantly greater nutritional value within the past five years. It is also likely that consumers are finding these oysters more appetizing than the Gulf Coast oysters and hence the propensity to pay more for them. The acute lack of data on these lines, makes the argument loose its credibility.

Secondly, consumers are less likely to consume the Gulf Coast oysters at all, leave alone buy them at cheaper rates, if the latter are affected with any harmful bacteria. People would be worried about the entire particular species of oysters even if only few of those are infected, and would avoid consuming them for good. The fact that consumers are still buying Gulf Coast oysters despite the fact that some of these might carry menacing pathogens, only validates the point that there are most likely other reasons that are making them prefer the Atlantic Coast oysters over the Gulf Coast. Besides, the argument fails to mention whether all the Californian consumers are willing to pay twice for the Atlantic oysters or whether it is only a handful of them who were considered. Hence, the information in the argument is qualified and needs deeper evaluation to ascertain the claims made.

Furthermore, the argument fails to mention whether the process devised by the scientists to kill the bacteria has been tried and found to be effective, or whether it might cause other side effects on the oysters. It is also not elucidated whether the Gulf Coast oysters after being treated, would be sae for human consumption. Without the validating the safety of these oysters upon the new treatment, the conclusion that the profits will rise after the said treatment appears impudent and feckless. Also, considering that the Atlantic Coast oysters are no different than Gulf Coast’s, if at all the latter become safer for consumption after being cured, the profits are unlikely to be higher for the Gulf Coast oysters since, both the types would be then equally consumable and people would be willing to pay equally for both instead of paying higher for one variety. Hence it is irrational to assume that the profits will be higher, without considering these factors.

In conclusion, the argument fails to appear cogent given the unstated assumptions and the lack of convincing data to substantiate the claims. Had the argument cited reports on whether the two types of oysters are same, or whether the survey conducted to note the consumer behavior in California is thorough and homogenous, the claims would have been bolstered to a great degree. Besides, it could have included economic comparisons and statistics to validate its point on the future profit analysis for the Gulf Coast oysters.