For the past five years, consumers in California have been willing to pay twice as much for oysters from the northeastern Atlantic Coast as for Gulf Coast oysters. This trend began shortly after harmful bacteria were found in a few raw Gulf Coast oysters.

The argument is about a trend that explains the changes in appetite and price of the California consumers of oyster for buying the Gulf Coast ones. Regarding to the issue, the author of this argument concludes that people might willingly buy more Gulf Coast oysters after five years because the assumption, which is related to the harmful bacteria in raw Gulf Coast oysters, have removed. He presents evidence to suggest this is valid based on a new process for killing these bacteria. Though this underlying issue might have true in some cases, because of the lack of relevant evidence, vague terminology, and unaddressed assumption, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The first point to mention is about the vague and incomplete information about Gulf Coast oysters. In fact, the author does not provide enough evidence and validated data about the amount of raw oysters that is harmful. He also could not explain a cogent relationship between the harmful oysters and its price reduction. If the author tends to attribute the price reduction of Gulf Coast oysters to their harmful bacteria, he must contain a valid comparison about the pervious price and then the less demand of people for consuming this kind of oyster after that fact. Moreover, the author does not specify other reasons that cause the reduction in Gulf Coast oysters' price such as taste and availability or other concealed factors.

Another problem with the argument is that the author has not mentioned the procedure of that modification. As a matter of a fact, the author does not cite about the process and the percentage of its success. To strengthen his claims, he should mention how scientist applied their method and what ratio of the infected oysters have removed. There is a possibility that their remedy was not impressive and the oysters are continuously harmful for people. In this regard, the people are not convinced to buy more from Gulf Coast oysters. Additionally, if we assume that the reduction in that region oyster is because of its harmful effect, the author must provide cogent and logical evidence to persuade people and then ensure more profit for those producers of Gulf Coast oysters.

Finally yet importantly, the argument is about five years ago. The author cited that based on changes on that time in oyster market, tackling the infected oysters and remove them might result in greater profit. However, this point is not well grounded. In fact, as the time passes, the things change and it seems absurd if we consider only that reason in the profitability of Gulf Coast oyster.

From what have been discussed, it is obvious that the author cannot provide a logical argument and cogent conclusion. For further improvement, this argument needs more detail data or economical consideration to find some scientific reasons for price reduction of Gulf Coast oyster and in that condition better solution for addressing this issue might be found.