In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Human beings are predisposed to resist change because of the risks associated with it. However, “To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.” As Winston Churchill rightly pointed out, change brings in the desired progress and to reach the pinnacle of the same, any enterprise must be open to changing often. This is vital to prevent stagnation in any field and in today’s world, it is more necessary than it ever was. Even so, there are bound to be demerits associated with unregulated changes. Hence for changes to be efficacious, it needs to take place in the right direction and in the right manner.

In most places around the world, we have elections in almost every enterprise, be it politics, businesses or education. The reason being, there is need for rejuvenation and for new ideas to hasten the pace of development, in every field. But one ought to focus on the particular purpose of election at the end of every term which is, to ensure that the change of leadership is required or felt by the masses. If the masses are satisfied with the extant leadership or believes that it brings in the required progress, they can re-elect the same leader for another term. This serves two purposes : allowing the change to be brought only when necessary, and alerting the incumbent not to misuse the power of his position, because he can be easily toppled in the next term if he does so. However, people are never going to endure the same leadership, however good, because it will nevertheless appear trite after two or three terms. Hence change is imminent. Given that change is vital and imminent, the above should be the manner that it is brought about.

As for change, it is needed for obvious reasons – to nullify the moribund in the enterprise, to bring in more dynamism, to witness novel ideas and so on. Monarchy has been replaced by democracy in many parts of the world, for a reason. People pined for a change in the leadership and felt the need to have a say in that process. However, it is not true that all change is beneficial and needs to be a must. Some changes are not required. The story of Steve Jobs being sacked and then reinstated to spearhead Apple is famous. The company worth of billions faced an acute disruption after Jobs was sacked from power as CEO. This left no choice but to call him back to stabilize the situation. Even in democracy the term for re-election is never extended beyond five years. This gives the voters a fair amount of time to inspect the government and make their decision to change or keep it after their term. Besides, venality and other untoward misuse of power in such institutions are constantly under scrutiny by the electors which has the potential to make the responsible wary of loosing the position.

However, it is true that whatever be the manner of bringing in the required change , it is undeniably vital for any enterprise to rise. Consider the example of an academic setting where a school teacher has been teaching the same class of computer science for 25 years. The incoming of a fresh graduate in such a scenario to teach the class would bring in a wanted novelty to the stagnant practice being followed so far. The graduate would be more aware of the latest development in the field than the seasoned teacher, who despite her experience, may not be truly accessible to the upcoming trends of the subject. The students would be far more benefited by the change of a mentor in such circumstances.

To surmise, it is true that change in the fields of business, politics, education, etc. is needed and very much desired for. After all, it is through change that one can hope to witness development. However, it is not necessary that change is a pre-requisite after every five definitive years. Any system should be flexible enough to give rights to its adherents, to espouse changes whenever they feel the need for it. This can be done by unrestricted elections, or by partial ones such as by choosing a few representatives to elect a new leader. The only caution should be that the process is right and that change is brought, be it after 5 years, or more or less than it. Whatever be the form, care should be taken not to stagnate an enterprise. To quote Churchill once more, “There is nothing wrong with change, if it is in the right direction.”