The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

The internet is a storehouse of information on practically anything from the world history to hair styling tutorials. With judicious utilization, the internet can educate, guide, motivate, assist, entertain, and be your friend. However, the internet is rife with a motely of deleterious and spurious junk. It gives unrestricted access to unwanted, immodest and irrelevant knowledge. This aspect of the otherwise treasure trove, poses a potential threat of spreading the vices insiduously into the masses of its users. Sometimes, the ill effects of the internet overshadows its merits. Hence, while the surfeit of information non-doubtlessly benefits users, yet the actual influence of the internet depends entirely on how it is accessed.

Many see the internet more as a threat than an advantage. The illegal sites, fallacious rumours, the mindless social networking jibber jabber, celebrity gossips, hoaxes, insensible defamations, are all collectively contributing to a the creation of a benighted, ill-informed, slouchy mass of teens and adults alike. While being hooked on to these irrelevant sources of transitory pleasures, users are wasting away precious time that could have been invested for a cause, say pursuing a hobby, or to read a book instead. The energy and the time could have been tapped in generating a more mature society of people. The slew of unwanted information on the internet deprives the world of the resources of these addicted users who idle away time on redundant posts and spurious videos.

In addition to the seemingly innocuous gossips and fancy content sharing, the internet includes the dangers of privacy violations, spread of extremist ideologies, and other perils like bank account hackings. Besides, immoderate public slandering of people and uploading imbroglios leads to depressions and suicides. Another example might include human trafficking attempts. While these are examples of what debauched humans can do with the power of internet, it is the rapid dissemination of the necessary information through the internet, that makes it all possible.

While the downside of the informations available on the internet is surely a deterrent in the construction of a healthy and moral society, at the same time, the positive potential of the internet can be tapped to undo the ill influence. Besides, the internet is a powerful tool that can create a sensible, healthy and an enlightened human population. It offers a myriad of platforms to educate, heal, give hope, and make life more convenient. It is a vital ressource for academicians, students, researchers and teachers. Not only does it assist in assignments, projects or papers, the system of online education is an enormous help to the community of learners who cannot afford to go to physical classrooms or find it inconvenient to do so. Through medical advises and forums, the internet can sometimes supplant personal visits to a doctor. The online marketing system has benefitted buyers and sellers beyond measure. Similarly, online banking, paying of taxes, bills, contacting people, interactions, seeking a job, donating for a cause, and even taking admissions to dream universities has all been made easier than ever before. And what more, the internet can also teach a skill like playing a guitar through its tutorial videos. The information that is propagated through the internet makes all the above possible and amenable. Hence, the internet can of course be beneficial if used in the proper manner.

To summarize, the internet is a tool that has the potential to build lives or even shatter them. The surfiet of information on the internet is drawn from both the enlightened, and the dark, pernicious worlds. As such, it depends on how it is used. To say that it only does good and benefits us, would be too naive and short-sighted. We cannot ignore the threats that the online world can pose us. Hence, I believe that the information presented or available in the internet can both harm or benefit the users, depending entirely on their usage and proclivities.