The widespread use of the Internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects about the ton of information available to people on the Internet today. If I were forced to choose, I definitely think that the large amount of information available online has benfited people around the world. I firmly believe in the positive effects of the easy availability of information on the Internet due to several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To start, people, nowadays, are well informed about various topics and important events taking place on a global level. People now have access to news and announcements at their fingertips due to widespread use of smart phones, which are capable of obtaining information from the Internet without any hassles. Moreover, communication of crucial time sensitive information has helped in saving a number of lives. I have to admit that my opinion is highly influenced by my own personal experiences. For example, my uncle, who lives in Tokyo, Japan, encountered an earthquake five years ago. The information of the earthquake was quickly and effectively communicated to the people living there through social media and other channels on the Internet. Thus, this crucial information was available to the people at the right time and hence, helped in evacuating the city before the earthquake hit. Therefore, my uncle and his family did not lose their lives due to the availability of information on the Internet. If Internet was not present during the time of the earthquake, many families would have lost their lives.

Secondly, the easy access of information online has also helped in preventing cheating and duping people's money. Since, people are aware of the prices of various products online, it is now difficult for merchants and sellers to price an item beyond its actual worth. It has helped people in making informed choices on various important decisions. Drawing from my own personal experience, I was booking a flight ticket to Dubai via my travel agent two years back. The travel agent quoted a price for the ticket and I became suspicious since he quoted a very high price, stating the reason that it was peak time to visit Dubai during the month of January. Dubious of his claims, I checked the flight prices online and realized that he was demanding double the actual price. Thus, I rejected his offer and decided to book the tickets online which worked out better for us, and also ended up saving a good amount of money. If I did not have access to the flight prices on the Internet, I would have been swindled by my travel agent on that occasion and possibly, many more times.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I certainly believe that the large amount of information available on the Internet is beneficial to the public since, people are more aware of the events taking place around the world and take more informed decisions.