Government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than trying to solve the predicted problems of the future.

Although it is important for the government to focus and solve the immediate problems at hand, it is equally important to focus on the future problems that the country might face. Hence, making sure that the country does not find it extremely difficult to deal with the problems in the future when the time arrives.

Consider the recent crashes in the stock market in India. All the major industries, mainly auto industry, FMCG companies and the banking sector, are facing huge losses and are a ten-year low in terms of growth. These industries are the backbone of the nation providing high levels of employment and crores of rupees in taxes to the government. In order to turn things around, the leaders of various industries met the finance minister of the country seeking for some reforms and concessions in taxes. The finance minister, Nirmala Sitharaman, made some promises to these leaders giving a few short term solutions. This lead to widespread criticism from various critics and other leaders, because, these solutions only focused on dealing with the short term problems. The government should have rather taken some other well planned out reforms which would lead to a steady growth in the Indian economy. Hence, this example clearly shows us the drawbacks of government focusing on solving the immediate problems of today rather than trying to focus on the future of the country.

Another example where the government has failed to focus on the anticipated problems of the future is the traffic congestion in metropolitan cities. Ten years back, the government would have never anticipated that traffic condition in major cities would be come to such a grave situation in India. The consequence of this mistake is widely visible everyday by the people who travel to work facing extreme difficulty to drive in such traffic conditions. The government should have anticipated how fast the cities were growing and hence, made adequate plans for the future. The failure to recognize problems early, has led India to become one of the worst countries in terms of traffic management.

Additionally, let us consider the ban on use of plastic which was implemented very recently. It was only now that the government realized the devastating effects of plastics on the environment. But, the damage has already been done to the environment with plastic bottles and covers flooding the water bodies of the country. It has also been horrifying to see the problems faced by the fishes which accidentally consume these plastics dumped in rivers and oceans.

The above examples prove that the government should give equal importance to future planning of the country in addition to focusing on short term problems. Hence, it should focus on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the the future and come up with long-term solutions rather than finding easy short-term solutions.