nation should require all of its students to study all the same national curiiculum until they enter college

A unified national curriculum for all the students in the country may seem tempting because it would lead to uniformity in the educational levels of students from various backgrounds and hence, does not allow for discrimination between students of private and public schools. however, this enforcement of the same curriculum for all students can curtail the abilities of students to pick up their interests in diversified subjects and thereby, not giving the students their right to freedom of speech and expression.

Let us take the first example of china. Here, all the education institutes of the country follow the same national curriculum until the students enter college. The chinese students are taught the same subjects in every school, private or public. The main focus of the chinese is on subjects such as Math and Science, thereby, forcing the students in china to be experts in these fields which has resulted in both positive and negative outcomes. The positive outcomes of this move can be seen from the fact that, amongst many famous scientists all over the world, the chinese form a majority of this community. Moreover, china has been leading in the Tech industry from many years due to its highly skilled working class population. however, the drawbacks of this homogenous curriculum is the control of the chinese government on the education of students. The chinese government has mandated all schools to include topics to foster chinese propaganda amongst all the students. they have also instructed the school to not show the government in bad light and thereby, giving a false representation of the government. The kids are taught about these values from childhood and hence, are never given the opportunity to think in a democratic manner. therefore, these negative effects overshadow the positive consequences and show the ill-effects of a uniform curriculum.

Additionally, a single national curriculum until the students enter college would mean that the students are not given any choice on which subjects they are allowed to take. this would result in every student, irrespective of his strengths and interests, is forced to choose the subject mandated by the school. hence, the student is not allowed to venture out to explore the various areas and subjects in which he can perform better. The students will also be deprived of the opportunity on learning sophisticated skills which might not be included in the curriculum. therefore, the same national curriculum for all students would curtail their right to freedom of speech and expression.

however, when we look at the education gap between the students in india, we can argue in favor of a uniform national. In india, there is large between the quality of education provided in private and public schools. The large private institutions which cannot be afforded by everyone, allows the students to choose from a variety of subjects and make it part of their curriculum. these private institutions also provide high quality teachers and various resources including libraries, grounds and other facilities. On the other hand, the public institutions fail to provide basic education to kids and lack basic necessities such as drinking water or playgrounds. hence, it would seem viable to have the same national curriculum in such countries.

To summarize the above situations, we can conclude that the same national curriculum until college can be employed in poor nations or developing countries having education quality gaps in their institutions. however, there are also various ill-effects from having a homogenous national curriculum as seen from the above examples, because, this enforcement of the same curriculum for all students can curtail the abilities of students in their creative imagination and not giving the students, their right to freedom of speech and expression.