To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The world usually interacts with only the major cities of a country and maintains economic ties with these prime areas. Hence, it wouldn’t be wrong to say that, the most important characteristics of a society can be studied by observing the lifestyle followed by the people in these major cities. However, some aspects of a society is also derived from the rural parts of the country.

Let’s take the first example of Beijing in China. This city has grown rapidly over the past few years in terms of technological and economic advancements. The people working in Beijing naturally depict the common features found in the people of China. They are hard-working and earn money by usually working in big production factories. The majority of the people working in Beijing are Chinese and one can hardly find immigrants in Beijing. This represents the lack of diversification across the country. Beijing is home to a number of headquarters of large multinational corporations and hence represents the economic importance of China across the globe. Therefore, Beijing acts as a connection from China to the rest of the world and the world judges the characteristics of China by studying the people living in Beijing.

Besides, let us consider Bangalore, which is one of the major four metropolitan cities in India. The diversification of people living in Bangalore is huge and people from various parts of the country settle in Bangalore because of favorable weather conditions and good employment opportunities. Simply by observing the people living here, one can estimate the diversity of people living across different parts of India. The middle class society of the people living in Bangalore is also a representation of the economic condition of India which consists majorly of middle-class or lower middle-class income people. Moreover, if we consider the rate at which the city is developing, it strongly indicates the growth of India at the global level. Hence, this example again proves the representation of country by observing one of its major cities.

Alternatively, when we look at the rural population of India, we will find that, the majority of people living in India are dependent on agriculture as their major occupation. More than 40% of the people living in India are living in rural areas and hence, this fact provides an insight regarding the drawbacks of considering only the major cities to evaluate the society.

All in all, we can conclude that, though, major cities provide us with an abundance of knowledge regarding the characteristics of a society, one should also consider the people living in the provincial parts of the country to obtain a complete picture of the country.