Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

it would seem logical to believe that it is the responsibility of educational institutions to realize the potential of its students and direct them to follow the path in which they are most likely to succeed. however, these institutions should not dissuade students from their fields of interest albeit they aren't showing any early signs of success in the field. hence, these institutions must be willing to give kids time to pursue their interested fields and encourage them to succeed and follow their passion.

educational institutions conduct exams in various subjects to judge the potential success of their students in different areas. these exams are designed to test the students' skills and knowledge in the core areas of different fields. hence, the institutions believe they are getting an accurate description of the student's understanding of the subject. but, some students might be very skillful in a particular field, however, he/she may not be able to portray the same knowledge in a conventional test conducted by the educational institution. therefore, it would not seem apt to judge the potential success of a student in a particular field based on a few tests conducted by the institution.

Let us take the example of a high student, jake, studying in Springfield School. he was a brilliant student who had exceptional problem solving skills in math and always answered the various questions asked by the teachers in the classroom. however, come exam time, he would barely get passing marks which led his teachers to believe that he was weak in math. The teachers didn't bother to examine what caused jake to perform badly in exams and hence, incorrectly diagnosed him to be weak in math. but, his parents believed in his abilities and wanted to know the exact reason for his behavior. So, they asked him to meet a counsellor who correctly diagnosed jake's anxiety problem. he was very afraid of tests and exams since they were time, hence, would panic during exams and not perform well. therefore, the counsellor gave him some medication to deal with this problem and he performed much better in the next math exam. From this example, we can realize the drawbacks of educational institutions incorrectly dissuading a student from pursuing his field of interest in which he seemed unlikely to succeed.

To summarize, educational institutions must use tests and exams to help students understand their various strengths and abilities in different fields. but, they shouldn't force the students to take up a particular field in which he has no interest. they should rather encourage the student to perform better in his interested field of study.