Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

“Nowadays people are always on their phones” is a very commonly heard phrase in this modern era of technological advancement. Although, the widespread access of the internet and other mass media has been a very huge advantage for mankind, it has its fair share of problems. The adverse effects can be seen in increased use of social media and people being susceptible to information from unreliable sources.

Let us first begin by considering how excessively people spend their time on social media sites like Instagram or Facebook. People of all ages and culture are actively using social media to such an extent that it has become a major factor in their life and one cannot stop this addiction. The strain it has on one’s eyes and the mental health is pernicious and can have negative impact in the long run of people’s lives. Many people often don’t realize that social media does not necessarily depict all aspects of a person’s life and usually people only potray their positive side on the internet. Hence, this can be very misleading to others who often go into depression not realizing that others do face problems in their lives. Short attention span is also a side effect of excessive use of mass media and people are always looking for new and exciting things to do, often forgetting what patience means.

Additionally, when we take a look at the vast amount of information available on the internet, it is not always the reliable. In fact, the internet is flooded with spam websites and emails whose only intention is to get confidential information from the users. A majority of the people are not ready to verify the source of the information and rather act upon the information hastily. A recent incident in India where a mob attacked and killed a Muslim man for allegedly selling beef became viral. After careful investigation by the police, it was later revealed that the man was attacked because of a Whatsapp message which falsely claimed that he was killing cows.

In light of the above examples, it is clear that although mass media has made a favourable impact on people’s life, one cannot ignore it’s adverse effects on people’s attention span and their mental health.