Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

encouraging students to choose fields of study that will provide them with lucrative careers is not only highly immoral but also results in many drawbacks which can affect the life of the student in the long run. students should follow their interests and not be running behind money at early stages of development. moreover, any career can be lucrative if the student works hard and is at the top of his field of study.

Let us assume that schools do encourage students to choose lucrative fields of study and force them to study a subject for which they have no interest. then, the students who graduate with a degree in that particular field will only have ordinary skill sets since he has no passion or interest for the field. this can result him in being ended up with a modest job where there is only a moderate pay. hence, the school's objective of preparing the student for a lucrative career has failed. Suppose most of students start graduating with a degree in the field of engineering or medicine, which are commonly considered as lucrative careers, it will result in a very large workforce in these fields. therefore, the demand for jobs in these sectors will decrease which leads to lower wages in these fields which are considered lucrative. this can have a devastating effect on the economy and students will stop pursuing these fields of study and look for options elsewhere. hence, the goal of the educational institutions to promote students to take up field of study leading to lucrative careers can become counterproductive.

Additionally, the word meaning of the word 'lucrative careers' is very vague and can hold different meanings for different people. For example, not everyone considers money as the criteria for choosing a particular career and for such people, job satisfaction might be more important than money. hence, lucrative need not necessarily mean money for everyone. moreover, people usually consider only fields like engineering and medicine as lucrative. However, one might be surprised to the amount of money paid to mechanics in Formula 1 racing. Their wages will be twice the amount of money any doctor or engineer is ever paid. hence, this example proves that, no matter which field one takes up as their career, if they are working hard and are passionate about the field, then they will definitely make any career choice lucrative enough.

Finally, students should always follow their dreams and passion rather than chasing money at a very young. such students who always seek money from careers will never amount to anything since they will have least interest in their jobs and cannot excel in their careers beyond a certain point. hence, students should focus more the work to be done rather than the amount of money they are being paid.

To summarize, it is not very effective for schools to encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers since it curtails the students' freedom of choice to follow his/her interests and dreams. therefore, it has many drawbacks and can also be counterproductive.