The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's recommendation to open a cafe in monarch books, so as to attract more customers, is filled with gaps and holes. Although, the author's statements seem logical, it is not supported by concrete evidence, and hence, his proposal to open a cafe in the store raises many questions.

To begin with, the author describes monarch as a store, which has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years and has a large customer base. The author does not elaborate on the scope and validity of his statement on monarch having a large customer base. since, the word large is very vague to be estimated, it would be incorrect for the author to base his claim on this particular fact. For example, a large customer base can be ten people or even a thousand people, hence, we cannot make any assumptions on this particular fact. moreover, the author states that, the cafe has been in the same location for more than twenty years. Once again, the author has failed to provide the exact number of years for which the store has been open for, and therefore, it is possible for the store to have been open from past 25 years or even from past 200 years. furthermore, if the store has been open for very long in the same location, it would not be recommended for the store to not make any changes, since, the people might be attracted to the history of the store, rather than their ability to provide refreshments inside the book store by opening a cafe. furthermore, the author states that monarch is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. hence, this availability of books could be the main attraction for the customers of monarch, and by opening a cafe, it would not make any significant impact on its customers.

Additionally, the author recommends discontinuing the children's book section for making space to open a cafe in the store. The author has used a national census, which indicates a significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten, to prove that children's book will likely become less popular in the near future. since, the survey conducted is on a national level, it does not specifically indicate a decline in population in the location of monarch books. moreover, the census only indicates a decline in the percentage of population under the age of ten, but does not provide any information regarding the kids above the age of 10. hence, the children's book section in monarch might largely consist of books for children between the age of 10-14. Thus, it would not be justified, if the author makes his claim based on this particular census. furthermore, it could be possible for monarch to be famous due to its wide availability of children's books, and by discontinuing this section, it could lead to a decline in its customer base.

Finally, the author makes an analogy of regal books, which recently opened a cafe in its store, monarch books. The author provide sufficient information about regal books to prove that it is a competitor of monarch book, and moreover, there might be any similarities between these two stores to prove that opening a cafe in monarch would make it likely to attract more customers and better compete with regal books.

To summarize, the author is flawed in his statements to prove that, opening a cafe in monarch would likely make the store attract more customers and compete with regal books. hence, his recommendation should not be considered.