Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Although, scandals might help focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could, its consequences are dire and leads to various negative effects. scandals spoil the reputation of the country or the organization in which it takes place and leads to loss of huge sums of money and resources which might never be recovered. When the authority in-charge are involved in scandals, it leads to unnecessary doubts on honest working professionals and people lose their faith in the government or the company.

Let us first take a look at the 2g scam in India which took place in October, 2015. In this scandal, the main culprit was then Finance minister, P chidambaram and his aides. According to the law, the rights to 2g technology was supposed to be given to the company offering the highest bid. however, chidambaram made sure that the rights were granted to Zee technologies and it was later revealed that, other companies who had placed higher bids were rejected the rights. after 4 years, this scam came into light due to a sting operation conducted by one of the major news channel. hence, a case was filed in the Supreme court to throw light on this scandal. after thorough investigation, it was revealed that chidambaram gave rights to a company in which his son-in-law had invested huge amounts of money, thereby, allowing his family members to make profit in an unscrupulous manner. later, chidambaram was convicted and jailed for 14 years. however, the money which was made by his family is now present in shell comapanies and the government is still not able to recover the money made by him. hence, this incident shows us that scandals need not necessarily be beneficial in any way and only does harm to the country or the government.

Another example of an Indian politician misusing his powers for personal gains is the current Home minister, D K Shivkumar. In the recent elections held in May, 2019, he declared assets worth 800 crores of rupees under his family name. however, in the previous elections held in 2014, he declared his assets as being worth 100 crores. this led to a few questions in the minds of the election Department and they launched a probe into how his assets were amassed. after the investigation was completed, the government officials proved that he made most of money through bribes and extortions. however, even after providing concrete evidence, the court has still not given a final verdict on his case and he is still leading a normal life without any hassles. therefore, even after realizing such scandals take place, the government is not able to do anything to bring corrupt politicians to justice and once again shows these scandals have no positive effects.

To summarize, we can conclude that, though scandals might help look at problems in a different perspective than any reformer or speaker ever could, they almost never have any positive consequences and therefore, are not very useful.