Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

it goes without saying in this ever-going and swift era in which we live, new phenomena have raised, and the face of the human being living is varied compared to what it was in the past. one of these phenomena is scandals which by the advent of the new technology and social media are ubiquitous. although some people argue that they are useful for their reforming characteristics, others stand on the other side, refute the notion and claim that the detrimental consequences of the scandals leaking are considerable. I believe that there are some benefits to society in scandals, but some demerits also exist. The facts and reasons to substantiate my notion are elaborated upon hereunder.

public shame through some cultural and behavioural issues can lead to a catastrophe which is not compensable. Depend on the people and the social structure, there are always many topics that most of the members are reluctant to argue about. In many cases, this negligence results in corruption and also public calamity. hence, there should be something to stimulate people's attention to spend more time on the issues and focus their attention to find the best solution to the issue. For example, thirty years ago when most people did not have the capacity to even think about homosexuality and a severe hindrance was on the road of being a homosexual or even have those tendencies, a scandal broadcast over newspapers. The news was that a priest in an old church at Wisconsin had sexual intercourse with his colleague. As consequent, many people started to talk about the issue with their own perspectives. some condemned the action; others began to investigate the causality of event and mass media covered the scandal. this social movement gradually discloses that there are many other people who live in the country with the same attitude and the same problem. Finally, after a long twenty years of declaration and arguments, homosexuals got their own rights and had some social acceptance. In this regard, scandals was a trigger to a national conversation and attention about an issue which was remarkably ignored.

On the other side, by the advance of social media, access to the population is increased. Nowadays, most people members of public networks such as Youtube and Instagram. many renowned people who do not have any outstanding talent except having many followers are emerged. they are referred to as "Celebrity" or "influencer". they need to absorb more followers; however, the way of attracting people is not the case. Therefore, many unusual techniques and methods are employed to deceive people and motivate them to be a member of the page or channel. it may have a detrimental effect on society, especially youngsters. To make it clear an example can drive the notion home. Kim Kardashian, as one of the most prominent influencers, has more than 10 million followers. Last year, she lost 2 million of her followers because of the best performance of her opponents and losing her attractiveness for the people. hence, a scandal broadcasted showed she and her boyfriend having sexual intercourse. although later it revealed that the film spread deliberately and with their consent, the public attention was focused on the film and her followers raised to 11 million people, most of whom were teenagers.