The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

The business manager of a public radio station argues that the station should back to the previous status to stop losing listener-supporters because they allocated less attention to traditional american folk music. he mentions that many old fans complained and the local newspaper has published an editorial against the program. The argument seems plausible at first glance; however, further investigation and pursuing situations reveal some apparent flaws in his notion.

The author fails to explain what was the efforts to broaden their supporter base. negative is possible that the combination of their whole deeds and actions in addition to spending less time on traditional music give this perspective to the supporters that the result of these actions is un-american. Imagine that they changed some history programs from contemporary american history to Europe history. Meanwhile, the cooking program started to teach Meditarean meals instead of the traditional ones. The lack of information on the root of the fans comments is not vivid, and he can not relate the critics directly to less time spending on folk music.

The writer of the memorandum does not mention the positive comments and appraises among listeners and supporters and point out the negative ones. he then makes those comments as the building blocks of his conclusion and indicates that these comments plus the recent editorial critical of their program shift are convincible factors to discontinue the current situation. he should glean more evidence about the growth rate of negative and positive comments. For example, they may have lost 10 percent of their supporters equal to 1000 people, and simultaneously they experience 50 percent rise in new supporters equal to 4000 people. it is crystal clear that absorbing more fans in comparison to losing less old fans is not a remarkable issue to cancel their decision.

Moreover, the passage states that the problem is related to recent months but no additional data provided to investigate the causality of the decline in the popularity. More research and inquiry should be employed to study the reason for the increase in opposite views. it is possible that the music selection and the content of the programs are not attractive to the audience.