The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical to our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

The business manager concludes that the radio station should discontinue their current emphasis Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminologies. Also, it fails to mention several key factors of basis of which this argument can be evaluated. The business manager reasons this conclusion by stating that it shall forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and avoid the loss of additional lister-supporters. Close scrutiny to the evidence reveals that the argument provides little credible support to the business manager's conclusion. Hence, the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the business manager readily assumes that the more time allocated to the Latino music and world music has led to a decrease in the listeners. This is merely an assumption with no solid ground. To illustrate this further, we can say that the number of people who enjoy such music may have started to listen the their air program. Therefore, the business manager should explicitly analyse and state that statistics after their shift of programming to convince the reader.

The argument notes that the radio station has been adversely publicized. This, again is a weak and unsupported claim as it fails to demonstrate the correlation between the entire general public who listens to this air program and a local newspaper editor. It might be the case, that the local newspaper editor does not enjoy the latino and world music but most of the audience seem to enjoy it. The opinion of the whole audience weighs more than the opinion of an editor. Hence, the business manager needs to be more clear for the reader to understand his argument.

Furthermore, it is stated that the long term supporters have compliant about the show being un-American bias. This argument in several critical respects, raises skeptical questions. How many complaints have been recieved? Is it more than the listeners gained? Do they want American music and world music to be allocated equal time> Unless these questions are answered, the argument shall lead the reader to have the impression that the business manager's conclusion is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantive thinking.

In conclusion, we realize that the above argument is as impersuasive as it stands. To bolster the argument, the business manager should do a detailed analysis and reliable survey on the listeners gained and lost. Also, the amount of time which is needed to be allocated to the music should be found out. This shall provide a concrete evidence for the reader to support the argument.