Essay topics: A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

This topic raises the issue of whether a person who commits a crime knowingly, shall be allowed to retain any civil rights or not. Indisputably, the person is responsible for his or her own actions. Nevertheless, not every criminal deserves such severe punishments. Hence, I disagree with the opinion that a person who knowingly commits a crime should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her labor and would like to argue that several factors need to be acknowledged before making such decision.

First of all, the reason and intention behind the crime must be considered. I would like to point out that there are times when the criminal has no choice but to commit the crime. For example, a beggar sees his children starve to death by each passing day. In such a circumstance, the beggar may rob a wealthy man out of some cents, to feed them. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the reason behind the crime was justified, and it is not in our conscience to retain the civil rights of such a beggar whose only intention was to feed his children.

Furthermore, the extent of crime also needs to be taken into account. Specifically, whether the crime was a small act of robbery of a few cents or a colossal act of initiating decimation. To illustrate this further, I would like to cite an instance of a story I heard when I was a child. There lived a poor man in a city, who had been serving as a prisoner for twenty years. His only crime was that of stealing two apples from a vendor. Our common sense tells us that this is not morally right. Thus, all evidence demonstrates that not every criminal deserves such severe punishments for actions they have knowingly committed.

Admittedly, a malefactor is responsible for his crimes and should be punished for his deeds. This is true especially when his intention is diabolic and can cause greater crimes to occur. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to the claim that criminals should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her labor. Because although many criminals need such severe upbraids for breaking the social contract, not all of them are worthy of the same.

In conclusion, the above arguments provide a concrete base to justify my opinion that a person who knowingly commits a crime shall not always deserve non-retainment of civil rights and the rights to benefit from their labor. No decision can be undertaken without analyzing the case of the crime.