The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author claims here that Over the past year , the late-night news program has devoted increased time to nation news rather then focusing on weather and local news due to which it has reduced its popularity over a period of time. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. Also, it fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated . To justify this conclusion author states that people complaints have increased and local businesses have cancelled their contract with their television station.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that due to increased coverage of the national news people have stopped watching their channel. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example if the company would start increasing its time for local news would it satiate the other consumers using their channel? Todays news comprises of a mixture of various attibutes. Its necessary for all viewers to stay tuned to their news channel. It is not stated that people dont want national news to be served . Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated what the users actually want.

The arguments cites that local businesses that used to advertise during thier late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contract . But its not specifically mentioned due to what reason the contract have been pulled off. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the companys loss of contract and the increased time of late night national news . There can be many other reasons such as management issues , service issue or any internal disputes due to which the company might have cancelled the contract. If the argument had provided evidence that due to increased time of national news they have cancelled the contract then it would have been a lot clearer to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that if the time devoted for the national news is reduced and time for weather and local news have been restored then it would benefit the company. However, the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, raises skeptical questions. For example, what is the users want something more? What if users dont want the time for national news to be reduced , but for weather and local news to have increased time? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey from more number of audiences and a detailed analysis of what needs to be done. Finally, to better evaluate the survey, it would be necessary to know more information about the actual reason of why people lost interest in this channel.