Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are called “alma maters” as they are considered as our generous mother. Why is so? It is said so because these institutions mould our lives in a way only a mother can. Being our second homes, they help us develop the road leading to the destination, the goal of our life. It can make us successful magnates or ruin us by making us live a life of a malefactor. Such is the influence and power of our educational institutes on our lives. In this case, dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed, may exacerbate a student’s future.

Success is not an accident, but a step-by-step process. Every successful man was once a tyro. A student’s skills can be analyzed and corresponding fields of study can be suggested by the educational institutes but his interests cannot be extracted from this analysis. Chetan Bhagat, a very successful and famous writer, pursued engineering from the top institutions and topped all of his examinations, but eventually turned to write, where his interests lay.

When a student is dissuaded from studying in a field, he or she is interested in, it may lead to mental pressure and self-denial. Surveys indicate that 30% suicidal and depression cases in India and due to students, not pursuing their interests, rather being forced to study in the “successful” fields. This may reduce the overall development of a country.

It can be agreed that a student may have a higher success rate, when takes the road frequently traveled, but every student is compelled to take this road, the world shall be a boring place, with no singers, no cricketers, and no actors. If Sachin Tendulkar would have been discouraged and forced to take up engineering or if Leonardo DiCaprio would have been forced to become a chartered accountant, the world would have never seen these personalities rise up and showcase their talents.

Educational institutions are responsible for providing knowledge for all fields. They may warn students on how difficult it is to go down the path on a field they are unlikely to succeed in, but they should also teach them hard work, passion and struggle required and encourage them in every way possible. A person shall write his own future.