Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager may have have been correct for restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, but his statements to support his decision do not suffice.

In his memorandum, the business manager has stated that he has received complaints from viewers concerning the local and weather news. It does not state during which period were these complaints received. There can be a possibility that most of the complaints received for weather news coverage are during a time when there has been a hailstorm or rain probability. Not covering such news at the peak time, might result in complaints by the viewers. Also, there can a possibility that the complaints received for the local news coverage is when a notorious thief has escaped the local prison, and there is a need to know where he has been last spotted.

The received complaints have not been enumerated by the business manager. It can be that the viewer strength might have increased, due to the increased time for national news. Unless the statistics are not known about the increase or decrease in the viewing of the television channel, it cannot be deduced that increasing the time for weather and local news shall increase the viewers.

The business manager says local businesses that used to advertise have canceled their contracts. This can be due to another news channel, increasing its advertisement period or advertising for an amount, much lower than that his television is asking. In such a situation, any business shall want to take advantage of this situation.

The viewers may be interested in watching the local and weather news, but not for a former time period but a little less than that. Restoring the time period to its former amount can decrease the number of viewers.

Thus we can say that these arguments need to be taken into consideration before taking any action. A precipitated decision can lead to a decrease in the viewers and also its rank.