"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that the Late Night Program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. It claims that during this time many complaints received where about the program's coverage of weather and local news. Also local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts.

The station has decreased the time of weather and local news for over a year now, and for how long have they been receiving these complaints and for how long have the business been cancelling the contracts. The news station might have not been appealing enough to the audience, the content delivered could have been poor and there is also a possibility of a much better show being telecasted at the same time that was not present before and might have coincided with the system changing the alloted times. This might have shifted the audience to the new show and the business to advertise in the new show. the few loyal viewers might have felt that if the old schedule of programs in the station was followed it would attract more viewers and could have complained.

Though the station received many complaints regarding the reduced amount of time given to weather and local news has the viewership of the program reduced drastically? The argument does not talk about how many complaints were received and if it was lesser or more than the complaints received before the change in the time being devoted to weather and local news. The complaints could have been made because it was the rainy season and everyone wanted to know the weather to stay updated and the program reducing the time might not have gone down well with the people. If the viewership has decreased because of the claim made in the argument then the idea of increasing the time for weather and local news strengthens the argument that viewership will increase because only when programs show people what they want, will they be willing to watch it.

Local local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station but the reason for them to have cancelled the contracts could have been because they found better advertising ideas, than the show. It could also be because their contracts were coming to an end and the businesses had no intentions of spending money on advertising and so were cancelling the contracts. The evidence as to why the businesses were canceling the contracts is very important. If it is because of reduced viewership then them cancelling the contracts makes sense and strengthens the argument because if not many people are watching the show, they will not get good publicity which in turn might decrease their profit. However if decreased viewership is not the reason then restoring the time devoted to weather and local news is not a good idea and weakens the argument.

So the correctness of the argument depends on a lot of these evidences and if the evidence of better shows and decreased viewership is true then the argument to increase the time devoted to weather and local news strengthens though other ways to increase viewership can also be implemented. However if these evidences are not true then the argument is weakened.