A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The future of a nation is its young and growing students. Education is a very important part of any child's life. Right from a young age they have to be honed and taught what is right and what is wrong and how to approach different problems and find solutions to it. So making sure that all the students receive the same knowledge and follow the same national curriculum is important but not more important than making sure that students are able to relate to what they study.

A nation is made up of a variety of cultures. As explained before it is necessary to follow the same national curriculum but it should have a limit, i.e, students up to a certain age maybe till 8th standard should follow the same subjects. After a student reaches a certain point in life, they can start to decide for themselves what they want to study and should not be forced. If a particular student wants to study history, it is important that he/she be given the choice and not be forced to study science. In this case not following a national curriculum is advantageous. Extending upon this example, a history of a place is not limited, it varies a lot in a country like India, it changes from place to place. So in history, a student would want to study Mughal History and another might want to study the British period, they should be given the chance to do so instead of making a superficial subject and making them study both so that a common curriculum is followed.

If the same curriculum is followed then when a student joins a college, they might have difficulty in adjusting to the new subjects and a different environment because in school they were never given an opportunity to explore their passion and thoughts, they were made to blindly follow a certain curriculum. Such a curriculum if implemented should be regularly updated and will need to keep track of everything important happening. In a country as vast as India, this is not an easy task. If you ignore one event then it will be considered that the event that was ignored is not high significance which will upset people and might lead to instability in the Government. A student will be able to relate with something they are more familiar about than about something they have no idea. So following the same curriculum will not be helpful here.

Students are the faces of tomorrow. They need to be well-equipped with the abilities to solve problems and face difficult situations. The problems one faces is not the same, they are different, like a civil engineer will have to pick the right ingredients for a bridge, a computer engineer will have to think about security. So the solutions will also very and if a common curriculum was followed then students might find it difficult to discuss certain issues.

So, my opinion is that a common curriculum is necessary, but only up to a certain level in a student's life. Having the same curriculum might promote oneness and a sense of unity, that everyone studied the same thing, but it also narrowly restricts the scope of knowledge a student can gain.