People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is true that people should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively because only then any oppressing rule would be brought down. Questioning the authority has led to a lot of drastic changes in the world in the form of revolutions. But this does not call for every rule to be questioned, some rules have to be followed if it is for the greater good, if the authority is not a dictatorship and the rule is something that the citizens need t adhere to for the good functioning of the society.

Questioning laws have made great changes. This has led to revolutions. The French Revolution and the freedom movement of India against the British Raj are examples of this. The British Raj imposed tyrannical laws and curbed the freedom of Indians and made them pay excessive taxes. The people stood up against these rules and Mahatma Gandhi led the Non-Co-operation movement against the British where people refused to blindly follow or coperate with the rules imposed.These years were filled with hardships and starvation. It was not until the Britishers were questioned on their methods did the situation become better. Questioning them lead many people to jails and they were killed for raising their voices. But the Indians led by Mahatma Gandhi voiced their opinions in a non-violent way by simply refusing to cooperate. Many Dictators have showed up in History like Adolf Hitler who made rules that simply made no sense. Unnecessary killing of a particular race was unwarranted and such rules were oppressing which needed to be stopped.

Many of the governments are democratic, where the government is as Abraham Lincoln says "For The People, Of the People and By the People". The rules made by authorities are for the well-being of the people. Elections are held where people choose their representatives in the government. So when a decision is made only, if the majority of the MPs vote for a rule, does it get passed in the parliament. So raising voices and questioning every single rule the government makes will lead to an unstable government where there will be fights for every decision. The questioning of authorities for every decision made will make them lethargic because they will have to put extra effort into making people understand why it is beneficial as a result the working of the government slows down. Also, what one person views as a good rule might seem as a bad one for others. So now what happens, there will be lots of discussions and fights about what is to be done. Take the example of Section 377 which was recently decriminalised by the Government of India, this led to many people supporting the law and man people opposing it, due to which we were able to see a lot of rallies and strikes everyday. This definitely took a toll on the functioning of the government.

Looking back on History we find that only when people question authorities have major changes occurred. But would this be possible if only few people raises their voices? The answer would be definitely no. If the government was a democratic one their views would be simply ignored, if it was a communist one they maybe punished severely as happens in China, Afghanistan. Also some rules are meant for the greater good and they have to be followed without questioning them. For example the rule of wearing uniforms to school is a rule many students would not like and want it to be removed, but this rule was made taking into consideration where students might be bullied or abused based on their economic background. So wearing uniforms would only help everyone.

In essence I agree that people should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively as long as the rules are not something that are very non trivial that can be accepted without any questioning which warrants that the society function peacefully without any fights.