Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowing and understanding the past is of great importance to those in current positions of leadership. So, I disagree with the statement that the understanding the past is of little importance. The situations of a country evolves and so do the circumstances of a problem. Without having a prior knowledge of the past will greatly affect the leaders' decision making and might have a direct negative impact on issues faced.

History is a great teacher. It helps you to understand from your own mistakes as well as from the mistakes of others. For example the capital of India during the British reign was Kolkata ( a port, it was decided because there will be an ease of trade). But after Independence the capital was shifted to New Delhi which is a central place and provides a cultural as well as economical significance which was not the case with Kolkata. Also during times of natural disasters, it is very important to be prepared to face the wrath of the nature. Take the case of a cyclone. Taking precautionary measures, depends a lot on how the cyclone is moving and where it is currently located. By having an understanding of the past we can easily know that the most affected areas will be the low lying areas. Also another great example would that be wars. How and when wars were fought, what strategies were used would be a great understanding. Another important fact, why leaders should understand the past, is to know how the implementation of certain laws and rules have resulted in. For example India recently implemented the GST, the government before implementing it would have researched a lot about how other countries implemented it, what other strategies they used and the problems they faced. And our government would then have had to find out how they would solve those problems. Elections are fought on the basis of the past, which party got elected last time and which areas were it's stronghold, which areas need improvement (in terms of votes). WIth the understanding of past the leaders can understand what exactly is that the people want - employment, education, infrastructure and what they expect from a candidate before voting. Countries that were colonised provide a very good example to this statement. The countries were colonised and were ruled by a monarch. They were treated as slaves and not given any freedom. When these countries got freedom, the leadership should have understood that suppression and oppression of the people would not lead to a peaceful society and should have adopted methods to make it a free country not repeat the mistakes of the oppressors. Countries that did so prospered and the others did not.

We might think that the past is past, there have been many developments both technically and mentally. People have changed, the resources have changed. An idea that was implemented around 50 years ago, that is being considered now would not give the same results, nor is it expected to. Also the geographical conditions vary and so the same idea can't be expected to give the results everywhere. But the idea is that we at least get to know what were the mistakes committed at that time while laying the rules for those ideas and not make the same mistake.

We can't expect the leaders to follow everything from the past and only focus on that( talk only about the achievements or difficulties). They have to understand the past and realise the wrong moves and try to correct them now.