The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The number of people who attended the Super Screen produced movie has decreased but the percentage of positive reviews have increased about specific Super Screen movies have increased during the past year. The argument states that the Screen feels that the content of these reviews are not reaching the public and has decided to invest more in marketing their content to reach a greater audience.

The report has been made by the marketing team of the company. How was the report prepared? Was it a survey? If it was a survey then how many people participated and what kind of questions were asked? Were questions related to contents of the movie asked or questions relating to how popular the movies were?

The number of people who took the survey is very important to understand the decrease in viewership. If it was not a survey and the reviews were taken from websites, then the authenticity and reliability of those sites need to checked to reach a conclusion about the percentage increase in the positive reviews.

The Super Screen report says that the percentage of positive reviews for specific movies have increased in past year. Has the Super Screen company produced a far greater number of movies during the year which was watched by lesser people and a lot of those who watched reviewed it positively? The percentage of positive reviews have only increased but maybe the overall percentage of reviews have not increased. If this is true then the percentage of positive reviewers would increase and the viewership decrease which shows the company has to invest in marketing and advertising.

Maybe the company makes similar kind of movies and the content has reached a saturation point and lesser number of casual audience wants to see the same thing again and again. The company probably has made only Sci-Fi movies this year and the audience wants a variety of things. But the loyal fan base has stuck to the movies and the company are giving positive reviews, which has lead to an increase in the positive reviews. The company will have to analyse the taste of the audience and see what they have been doing differently with their movies the past year to cause a drop in viewership. If this is true then the increasing the budget for advertising and marketing would not help the company so much than investing in good quality content.

It is very important to know what type of report was prepared and what were the standards and measures it followed to decide the reason for the decrease in viewership and the increase in good reviews. If the company invests a lot of money in advertising, will it be able to mange it's expenses and still make good quality content movies? This has to be addressed before increasing the budget for advertising.