People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The degree of authoritanism or totalitarism in a government varies greatly. While in Platon’s Utopia, the ideal state is described as the one with very strict rules, in Golding’s Lord of the Flies we are presented with a society in which there are no rules at all. The rules of Platon’s ideal state is unquestionable, whereas, in Lord of the Flies, the children do not even have a rule to question. Considering both literary pieces and the societal problems they come across as the storyline goes on, one can easily promote the idea that neither is ideal. Thus, the question to ask is: “Is it possible to temper both sides and find a common ground?

As a person who was born and braised in Turkey, I can say that I know how a society without a critical mind acts very well. One of the prohibitions that are standing on a shaky ground is on abortion. As a person who has little knowledge about Turkey might guess that each year, -I would like to use active form here- many men rape women and these women sometimes forced to marry the person who rapes her. The power given to these women to have an abortion is taken away from them. The moment they apply to a hospital for an appointment, the government lets their parents know that their daughter is pregnant. I think that this is a rule to be questioned deeply.

Thus, one can promote the idea that the rules especially directed towards human rights have to be questioned. I agree with that idea. Furthermore, I believe that referendums are important steps to take in case of big decisions concerning the majority of the society. However, In order not to hinder the legislative process of the parliament, some of the rules might be approved without further fuss. Such as rules in benefit of children, women and other minority groups.

As you probably know, 1st of May is celebrated as the Labor Day in many parts of the world. In Turkey, it creates a big chaos and the police uses deterrent force against “provocators”, even though they are simply people with the pursuit of their own rights. At one Labor Day, I saw a yellow line written “It is forbidden to cross the line”. If you cross the line, you are in the big square named İstiklal and it is the place hosting the Labor Day protests for years. It is forbidden because you just “cannot” go there, the government does not want you to be protesting for your rights.

After walking a little bit more, I reached the metro line and started to wait for the next train to arrive. I noticed that the same yellow line was there too, written “It is forbidden to cross the line” on. However, this time, it was forbidden because if you cross it, you will be crushed by the train.

The reason why I stated these two instances is because, there are some rules to question in the world. If the rule is directed towards your basic human rights such as protesting, you certainly must question it. However, if it is for the benefit of you or other people, if it is protecting your life or privacy, in my opinion, little further negotiation over the issue is highly adequate.