Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Ever since the ancient times, mysteries of the Earth or even beyond that, the mysteries of the universe"s" have been one of the main focuses of the humankind. The primal urge to lift the veneer of what can be seen resulted in our interest in positive sciences. Throughout the history, many scientists claimed many ideas and while most of them was supported by experiments, there are many assertations made based on clear assumptions. No matter what type of a scientific information it is; today, there are many scientific claims that are still accepted as true, as there are many ideas falsified later on. Thanks to the cumulative nature of science, we as humankind need these falsified ideas as much as we need the "still respected" ones. Because in order to come up with a scientific discovery, a scientist needs a starting point. If you are not as lucky as Isaac Newton who discovered the gravity just through the inspiration of a falling apple, you will need ideas -right or wrong- to inspect, research and surpass, as the nature of science commands. That is why I believe that mistrusting any information with the fear of its being falsified later on would hinder the prospected discoveries on it.

For instance, the geocentric model of Earth was not asserted out of a whim. The people at the time observed the stars and other planets, moreover, the Sun was rising from one point and setting from just the opposite of that particular point. All these lead to the people of 15th century to think that they were living in the center of the universe. This used to be the case, of course, until Copernicus claimed that it was the other way around, that the universe was heliocentric and it was the Earth revolving around the Sun. Today, many scientists assert that Copernicus started his research about it by questioning the general claim of the geocentric model. Thus, this shows us that in order to find out new and more factual discoveries, we need a starting point to enhance, whether right or wrong!

Moreover, many people are unaware of the fact that even Einstein had incoherent ideas too. For instance, Einstein thought that the universe was expanding and there was a firm mass ensuring that it is not going to collapse, however, this was not consistent with his other idea of relativity. Such an incoherency led not only Einstein but also many other scientists to make more research on this topic. Furthermore, in the end Einstein not only saw that the idea of a firm mass was wrong, but also enhanced his idea of relativity. What I mean is, the ideas to be falsified later on can also cause the developments on previous ideas that are actually right.

However, the claim of the author is also right that such incorrect theories also cause discontinuence in science. For instance, Isaac Newton claimed that light was dispersing in the form of particules. Until Einstein falsified this theory, it was thought to be right and because of that, scientists could not proceed many of its experiments on light. Thus, a counter-argument might also hold true that at some point, the ideas should not be trusted "that much".

Before conclusion, I would like to draw attention to difference between mistrust -which is in the prompt- and distrust. Someone distrusts a claim due to experiment but mistrust is generally out of a whim and a feeling. I believe that, moving forward from the examples I stated above, what we should be doing is not mistrusting, but rather keeping on questioning any reality and "distrusting" when they are falsified. In order for the humanity to keep going, we need not to accept any fact as right (even though it was Newton's idea!) and keep questioning it. However, mistrusting any information, as the author recommended, seems like a narrow minded and noxious approach to science.