Essay topics: Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The award-winning British science fiction writer Lewin once told that: "Too often we give children the answers to remember, instead of problems to solve." I agree with Lewin on the fact that learning requires critical thinking and problem solving, through the activation and stimulation of synapses in the brain on many levels. This means that most of the time, the brain needs in-depth analysis and questioning of the facts to truly understand a concept. However, critical thinking or conceptualizing would not be enough for raising a rounded, well-educated youth. I think that the author is right in claiming that educators should keep the children's ability to conceptualize while they give scores, however, their comprehension of unquestionable facts such as 2 plus 2 makes 4 plays a complementary role in the assessment process. This is why, many successful educators utilize fact-based questions alongside with the open-ended ones in an exam.

Pedagogues and learning experts state that children have many different approaches to learning. While some students prefer memorizing, others do conceptualize. For example, children who tend to study positive sciences deal with facts. The experts say that these children should be educated and assessed with "The Stake Method" in which the teacher places the stakes -facts- and the children ties each fact with the ropes of ideas, trends; thus, conceptualizes the facts in this way. However, the other students who are more imaginary and prospected literature enthusiasts or writers of the future deal with concepts more successfully. When Abraham Lincoln was born and died does not mean almost anything for them, as long as they do not know what he has accomplished and his role in the abolition of slavery in the United States. As a result, because there are many children with the variety of approaches to the topics they study, the assessments should not focus on their accomplishment in conceptualizing, but also their acumen in utilizing solid facts. This is why I do not comply with the authors claim thoroughly.

For example, a teacher who assesses students with prioritizing their ability to conceptualize facts and preparing questions especially targeting this particular skill -as the author advocates- might cause the alienation of the students who are more talented in memorizing facts. These students would be receiving particularly low scores even though they are not inefficacious, but simply do not comply with the way the teacher wants them to learn. This is why I claim that the tests should be including questions addressing each type of students and the assessment process should be proceded keeping the differences of the learning styles in mind.

On the other hand, what is crucial is finding the balance in between. One should falsify my stance advocating the "meeting the halfway" approach by saying that these children should not be educated in the same classroom by the same teachers and should not be tested with the same questions; because their style of learning is different. Even though this goes against my saying, this is another method that can be implemented. The children who are into the facts and the others who are more imaginative and towards conceptualizing might be divided into different groups. However, this would not result in well-rounded children, on the other hand, this type of education would be raising children who are not capable of learning either facts or concepts. Since they are divided into groups which focuses on only the skills they are already good at, they will not be able to enhance their talent in the other skill. For example, the students in the "factual class" might be suffering from a decrease in their illustrative skills. This is why, I still claim that education should be focusing on neither but subsuming either; facts and concepts.

As a result, education should be addressing the talents of every child for them to be successful. If we want them to be successful, we should give them the education complying with their skills. Assessment processes should also be proceded in this way; a children who is better in facts should not be demonized with questions requiring conceptualizing. Facts and concepts should be complementary and questions should be demanding both skills from children. Since focusing on either of them would cause low scores for one of the groups and alienation on their side. Besides, the other group would be deprived of a chance of enhancing the weak side.