A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is almost an irrefutable fact that the children are young people who are imbibing any information we provide. Many experts assert that the education a child receives, especially during the precocious stages of life, plays a significant role in determining his or her profession in the adult life. Considering that the children are malleable beings who can be mold through lectures, one might put forth the idea that the curriculum is the pith of education. Futhermore, while the idea that every children should be studying the same curriculum until college seems like a genial idea, according to many experts, age of 18 is way too late to decide on a profession and receive education accordingly. Thus, it is more palatable for me that the schools should start providing different curriculums for various children with a number of different interests or skills. Education might be diverse, changing in accordance with not only the age of the children but also their unique and paragon personalities.

On the contrary, many other people claim that the parents or the institutions should not be so influential in the lives of children. The counter-critics claim that, on the other hand, the idea that all children should receive the same education through the same curriculum provides a sense of equality. Thus, they will be able to decide what to do in the future independently, when they are going to college.

However, statistics show that more than 60 percent of the college students in Turkey, the country in which the curriculum is the same for every children, are not happy with the choice they made after high school. Moreover, more than 20 percent of the college students are pondering about changing their institutions. What is more striking is the percentage of the students who really did it, it is almost more than 10 percent. Experts claim that requiring children to decide which profession to deal with for the rest of their lives at the age of 18, without any orientation or providing any background during previous years of education is almost cruelty.

Moreover, apart from the fact that without enough background, the children cannot make healthy decisions, the same curriculum also precipitates the alietion of children from lessons. Because they receive lectures about subject they are not really enthusiastic about, the idea of “school” in the eyes of children are not attractive.

In the light of the information given above, I argue that since deciding profession even after the age of 18 would be way too late, the solution should be giving in-depth education, focusing of the very pure talents of the kid. If he or she is interested in tunes and instruments, the number of music lectures should be whet. Or, if the children are into science and not enthusiastic about social sciences; lectures such as literature or linguistics might be alleviated accordingly.

As a result, one might claim that applying the same curriculum for each children not only blunts the unique talents of children until they are 18, but also alienates them from institutions. Statistics show that in a country where each student receive almost the same education, many college students are thinking about changing their schools. As a corollary of the ongoing simplification and uniformity of education; children cannot make health decisions. Since they are not provided with enough courses to explore their talents and even more lectures to enhance their skills; they just go to the college which accepts them with their current scores.