Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or d

As my concern, we should not abandon either of the assessment in that the students' learning could be evaluated in different degrees. Learing knowledge is a precrdure of discovering onself, then others and the world. When we discuss the education, esspecailly the evaluation of the students' learning, we should analyze the stituaion seperately. I will address my views as below.

To begin with, not all the courses require the students that they should grasp the facts. In the literature and philosophy, the facts may not be the real fact we daily discuss with. Also there always some words we could not determine the real or unreal. When I was at High school, we were required to learn the classics of Laozi, a great Chinese phylosopher two thousand years ago.While lots of his words and slogans were so hard to figure out even the teacher could not explain them well. While when I grew up, I found I graudually realized some of the meaning while I still could not understand what it really means. When I turned to my dad, he told me, take it easy, you will find the meaning youself when you get older. My father could not tell the facts of all the Laozi classics Daode Jing, either.

On the other hand, there are some majors that the students should explain the facts' illustration. Especially, in Science area, nearly all of the courses need accurate explaination in that minor flaws can incurr major mistakes. There is a defination of proper living belt in Solar System which is the range of orbits if any palnets revovle in this routine the distance from the sun was proper for the existence of liquid water and also, they could be protected by other big planets from the collison of other planets or astroids. Thus this theoy should not only be well eplained and also be accurately calculated. This prescision perfectly defined the nature science.

As Shopenhuaer said , we should not recognize the world in each of our own eyes is what the world should be. It is true that any individual should define the world we are living in, likewise, the students' learning in different majors should not be assessed in a unique creterion.In my opinon, the students learning whoe major in Arts should not be neccessarily evalutate by the expainations of the facts which may confine their imagination. The students majoring in sicence courses, however should be required to explain the facts in their field objectively and accurately due to the nature of science.In all, I partly agree with this issue.