The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon."For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at

In this article the author tells us some sity commissioners suggest that the city funding for the Grandview Symphony should be elminated due to the developments of the symphony. To support this recommendation, the author shows that the private contributions increased by 200 percent last year as well as the attendance doubled in a concert last year. While this suggestion is problematic because there are some loopholes in this statemant, we should evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, To what extent the private contributions helped the symphony is still in question. Even the author says this support increased dramatically by 200 percent , we do not know how much they contributed previously. Maybe there was few private contributions which take trivial part in the whole funding, although the contributions increased, it could still take a small part which could not be very helpfu compared with the numbers in percent.

In addtion, the attendance in a concert doubled. This evidence is not convincing as well because this was merely a single appearance. For the first time, it made me think about how many concerts did the symphony hold annually? What's more, what's the attendance of the other concerts the symphony held last year? These two questions are significant to us because it generally charaterize this symphonies' appearance for us to make the evaluation for them. Maybe there are only a few concerts the symphony held, more worse the attendance of other concerts were not well likewise. In this wat, the city funding is essential for them.

Thirdly, they announced they would increase the ticket prices next year, while this is not a reason that they would make more money hence they do not need the city funding later. We should find out why they increase the ticket price. For one thing, they could be very popular previously as the commissioners wish so they want make more profits, while this need further evidence to prove it. On the other hand, there is a high possiblity that the are running not well while the actors and players need salaries to live. This is possible while we need futher infromation either.So we can not make conclusion that this increasing tickets price plan means they can support themselves.

Finally, I belive it is important to ask other comissioners with this suggestion. Because we do not know how many commissioners opine this idea.Besides is there other means of elimianting this funding is still in question, thus the author should make a survey of all the commssioners or make a discssion inviting all the people relates to this funding to make a more comprehensive plan.

In conclusion, merely according to the evidence in the statement, the suggestion given by some commisioners is not compelling. To support this idea, the author should find other important informations. Firstly, the running condition of the symphony is essential as well as the contribution details by the individuals.Secondly, the other commissioners' advice are also important.