GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the prompt states that "an international development organization" came up with a new breed of millet and it can be the panacea for the nation of Tagus, whose nation is impoverished and lacking in vitamin A. To begin with, I would like to draw attention to a hole, which is the name of the organization that developed the product of millet. Moreover, what is this organization's previous accomplishments? Did they engineered a nourishment before? Did they implement the same or even another product to a food scale of a country and succeeded? Is there a relationship between these providers and the product's apologists? The author seemed a bit precipitous in jumping into conclusions, however, I believe that importing a food product into a country necessitates ruminations first.

What strikes me in the paragraph is the sentence stating that the nation is impoverished. Thus, one might conclude that since the people are extremely poor in Tagus, they end up with eating foods such as millet. Would not it be better if the government would lean to a more nutricious food that is also rich in Vitamin A but also protein? Did the required research made on other foods rich in vitamin A? Is there any possibility that a better option might be available? The author gives no information about this pinpoint.

Moreover, a big presumption made in the passage is the author's assertion that the people of Tagus will be cherishing this new kind of millet with ease. However, whether the taste of this new millet will be the same or whether it will be used in the same recipes that the people of Tagus enjoys are not clear. Have they done any research on that? Even if so, the author does not state any. Also, the fact that millet is a food that have a great proportion in the menus of the people does not necessarily mean that people like it and enjoy it, just like it does not mean that they are going to like the new product either.

Another problem between the lines of the paragraph is that the author assumes that the farmers will accept cultivating their lands with this new kind of millet since the government will be supporting them for buying the crops of it, which are relatively more expensive. On the other hand, there is no researched made about the cultivation process of this new millet crops. Will they require the same or less amount of effort for the farmers? Will the yield be the same or more per acre? There is no information given, thus, we cannot assume that the farmers will be pleased with this new product. If they deprecate it, then all the crops imported by the government will be thrown out and this is going to be quite detrimental for an economy of a nation, especially if its nation is impoverished.

All said, the questions to be asked, in my humble opinion, are, many. The international development organization needs to be investigated before any decision about import. Moreover, an in-depth analysis is required in order to see what the people of Tagus want. Also, whether the new product will be a subsidiary for the latter is unknown, since its taste or form is not analyzed and compared to the previous one. Unless these questions are answered and unless the authorized people are sure about all the assumptions the author made, the predicted result might or might not be achieved.