The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company asserts that even though they receive more positive reviews on their new movies, the number of people who attends these movies decreased during the last year. The director presumes that since they receive better reviews, the reason why they sell the less number of tickets cannot be related to the quality of these movies. Furthermore, he clearly states that the reason should be the lack of awareness in public, that people do not hear about how good the movie is, thus, they should be spending more money on advertising next year. The assertion made by the director seems valid on the surface, however, when you scratch its surface even a bit, you see that there are a number of flaws in the chain of assumptions.

To begin with, I believe that the reason why the number of appreciative comments raised while the number of attendants decreased might be because the audience of the movie has undergone a drastic change. Maybe during the last year, their movies only attracted the people who were already fans, not the prospective viewers with no opinion beforehand? For example, most of the fans of Spiderman would appreciate the new movie of the hero no matter what and they would not adulterate the name of him. However, it is easier for an impartial viewer to make harsh criticisms towards any movie. Thus, I believe that the reason why they receive less critiques while the number of viewers lessen might be this. Another factor to consider might be the economic situation of the country. In case of a rise in the inflation rates or an economic crisis, people cut on their spending on movies or shopping. The reason why the impartial viewers do not choose their movies might be that, they can only go to the movies they are really curious about and cannot afford others. They only go to the Spiderman movie that they love and not romantic comedies just to have fun and critique freely.

Furthermore, the director also claims that the positive comments are not reaching out, the prospective viewers cannot hear about how good the movie is. However, the director does not state where these recommendations are and the reason why the other people stay unaware of them. Are they online reviews sent to movie review websites? Are they valuable film critiques published in a local newspaper? Who are the people writing about the movies? Since most people do not choose which film to go out of a whim, in order for comments to be beneficial, they should belong to a person who is known and respected. Are they people who are respected in a society? If not, people might be reading these reviews but ignoring due to the fact that they just belong to teenagers or John Doe's.

Moreover, the director implies that the solution to the problem is increasing the proportion of advertisements in the budget next year. Nevertheless, he does not clearly state what kind of advertisement is going to alleviate the problem. Is he going to target local newspapers or rather be more aggressive in online marketing? Since the way to go is not crystal clear, one cannot settle for his assumptions and support the director's decisions.

One more thing to pay attention to is, in my opinion, the fact that he is the "advertising director" of the company. Maybe the reason why he thinks that the reason is lack of advertising because he wants his budget in the company to be increased. Since the other claims turned out to be invalid, I believe that this is another matter to pinpoint.