The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument in a given memo may seem tenable at first look. However, it makes some unwarranted assumption on which conclusion relies. There is no clear eveidence to justify the assumption. For example it assumes recent report from marketing department is not a cannard, had they provide authenticity of the report.

The writer of the memo may have assume that the report given the marketing department is authetic. There maybe some personal reason of marketing to make money via advertising. So, it provided a false report of the decline of the viewer. The marketing department knows if the fund is allocated to advertise we can easily take share of for our own personal benifits. Had the witer provided any authenticity of the report of marketing department.

The writer of the memo also make assumes that if percentage of positive review increases that means the movie is good. Suppose, this year only 100 people watch movie out of which 70 people like movie.whereas, last year the count was 1 lakh people watch movie and 69000 people like movie. We cannot concludethat movie is good or bad based on the views of 100 people in front of 1 lakh people of last year. Furthermore, writer did not provide contrast between the exact figure of how much people attended the movie in past two years which would provide better insight about quality of the movies releases in two years.

The writer assumes that there is lack of awareness in people about the quality of the movie. But he forget to look at economic condition of people this year. there maybe possiblity of recession strinking in that city which is clear reason behind lack of people watching movie. Had the memo provided the economic condition of that city this year.

The argument in memo is based of many unwarranted assumption such as belveing on the report given by marketing department. So, there will not be increase in movie viewer by allocating the resource to advertising of the movie.