Super Screen MoviesThe following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The memo sent by the director of the movie production company is not giving a complete picture of what is stated in the memo. There are a lot of questions that needs to be answered before one can arrive at a rational conclusion regarding the matter.

It is said that the according to the recent reports from the marketing team, the number of people attending Super Screen produced movies has atrophied. It begs one to ask how was this report of interest generated? how many theatres were surveyed to arrive at this conclusion? If the number of theatres that is surveyed are a small fraction of the total number of theatres where the movies are screened, the report will definitely be a misleading one. It is also possible that the theatres in which the surveys were taken had other issues like accessibility to general public, theatre conditions etc. were all of these factors taken into consideration too?

Following in the same line of thought comes to the second part where percentage of positive reviews for the movies have claimed to have increased, how was this survey taken? was it done face to face? was it done online? if it was done face to face, what were the number of people who were surveyed? what was the age group of the people who were surveyed? was it fairly targeted across all the age groups? If the survey was taken online, there is a chance that one person who enjoyed the movie a lot could have given multiple positive reviews from different accounts, how are they able to differentiate between multiple feedbacks from the same person? what were the total number of people that were considered for this survey? If it was a small number, then there are chances that they might have got feedback from a sample space where a large fraction of people fortutiously happened to like the movie. if the movie was a youth romance, the teen-adolescent age group would have higher chances of liking it than other age groups. hence, without answers to these questions, it cannot be concluded for sure that the films had positive reviews on the whole.

Later in the memo, it is concluded by the author that the root cause of the problem is that public are not aware such movies are being released. how does the author come to this conclusion? what possible steps has the author taken to come to this conclusion. does he have a research team that has enough data that alludes any rational person to conclude the same as what the director has concluded? If such a report with sufficient data exists, he could have mentioned it in the memo which would have added weight to his argument.

While all the reasons provided in the argument might be true, there is no way to conclude that these are valid reasons until the above questions have been answered to a satisfactory extent at the very least.