Prompt: "The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

In the argument the business manager of the televison station states that they have recieved numerous complaints from their viewers regarding the and businesses have cancelled the advertising contracts with the television station. The manager attributes the above to the decrease in time allocated to weather and local news. The manager claims that by restoring the time devoted to the the weather and the local news will help them attarct viewers and prevent losing further advertising revenues. while the argument seems perfectly valid, a closer examiniation reveals that it lacks cogency and relies completely on assumptions having no supporting evidence.

First, the manager assumes that the complaints from their viewers is due to the decrease in the time allocated to the weather and local news section. while this appears to be a valid assumption, it is by no means the truth. The numerous complaints recieved from the viewers may be regarding other factors pertaining to the local news and weather. For example, the viewers may be unhappy about the accuracy of the weather forecasts, the quality of the local news reported or they may be complaining about the bias of the television station that supports one poilitical party and always defames the opposing party. further investigation into the complaints and broadly categorizing them into content quality, accuracy etc. may help the manager identify the root causes of the complaints and take necessary action on them.

Second, it is highly doubtful that the cancellation of advertisement contracts by local businesses is due to the decreased coverage of local news and weather. The manager rather boldly assumes the above without any supporting evidence. There may be a lot of reasons to the cancellation of contracts. The local businesses may not be doing well as a result of which they cannot afford advertising anymore. it is highly likely that a competitor to the tv station offers advertisements at a cheaper rates. The tv station would have failed to live up to their word and would have not adverstised according to the contract therey leading to its cancellation. The manager must talk to the local businesses as well as the management to understand the reason behind the cancellation of the contracts. it is fallacious to attribute the cancellation to the decreased coverage without evidence.

Finally the manager assumes that restoring the time allocated to the weather and local news section will attract more viewers. this assumption is filled with loopholes and fails to provide supporting evidence. If the content and the quality of the programmes broadcasted fail to capture the viewers attention, it is highly unlikely that it wil attract more viewers. In fact it may take a U-turn and the viewers may decreases. The manager has to come up with innovative ways and understand the needs to viewers to gain more viewers.

Overall, the argument is poorly reasoned and it is not entirely convincing. The argument is filled with flaws and the lack of supporting evidence only weakens it further. To better evaluate the argument the manager must conduct a survey or interview of sorts with its viewers and the local businesses to understand their pain points and take action accordingly by devising a solution that address their needs.