A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

this topic raises a controversial yet debatable issue of whether a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Indisputably, a student must be given the freedom to pursue their interests and the curriculum established may not be aligned with their interests. Nevertheless, in the best interest of the nation, I think it is ideal to maintain uniformity and the equality of the education imparted by having students study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

By enforcing a standard curriculum across the nation, one can eradicate the differences between the people who are economically very weak and others who can afford decent education. In third world and developing countries like India, it is common to notice that the school offer a wide range of curriculum and the quality of the education provided is directly proportional to the curriculum chosen and the school fees. To illustrate this further, reputed yet expensive private schools follows the superior ICSE based curriculum for their students whereas the government schools follow a curriculum that is below average in quality and differs from state to state. this adversely affects the quality of the students who graduate from school. this results in an unfair advantage to those who could not afford good schools as their sub-par education does not assist them in getting into a good college.

A nations welfare is highly influenced by how well educated its citizens are. hence it is incumbent on the nation to provide quality education to its citizens beginning from school. enforcing a common curriculum that is good in quality and also exposes the students to a wide spectrum of domains helps the student identify his/her interests and thereby prevents workforce which is wrongly placed in a domain where the worker is not interested. this way, a student has enough time to explore all options that are available to him/her in school and pick the right domain that interests him in college.

One may argue that the quality of the curriculum may adversely affect the students. it is highly likely. if the nation adopts a very rigorous curriculum there is a good change of students dropping out and this may lead to increased unemployment rates on a longer run. On the other hand if a curriculum adopted is too easy then the quality of the students won't be good enough and they may suffer in college in their career as a result this. hence, a well balanced curriculum that exposes students to a

wide variety of courses and domains is very important if a nation intends to enforce the students to study the same curriculum until they enter college.

Overall, it is ideal if the nation requires the students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college as it does not differentiate between the smart or dull,rich or the poor. Every student is provided with an equal chance and it behooves the student to make good use of such an opportunity and explore the options and choose the career path that intrigues him/her the most. A nation plays a pivotal role in its citizens life by providing equal, unbiased opportunities right from the very foundation of their education i.e. the schools.