Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

this topic addresses the controversial issue of whether corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate in or

the corporations are responsible for making a lot of money as long as they operate under the law.

While the primary objective of any corporation is to make a profit, one must not be negligent towards the society and the environment in which they operate.

one may argue that since the corporations are bound under certain laws it is not the responsibility of the corporations to woory about the society or environment.

Nevertheless, since the society and the environment form the very foundation of the corporation directly or indirectly

it is incumbent on a corporation to be aware of its obligations towards the social and environmental needs.

In addition to the laws under which the corporations operate, coporations have to take step fruther in their contribution to social and environmental attributes.

it behooves on a corporation to do so because the laws under which they operate may be weak or outdated.

For example, the laws may prohibit the corporations from disposing the chemical waste into the rivers.

The corporation, in addition to following these laws, can support the initiative for the "Go Green" movement by enforcing the reduction in the use of paper and by upgrading their machines to energy efficient, renewable energy sources.

this small step taken by the company might contribute to the environment in the longer run.

The government may identify this noble act of the corporation and may consider renewing the laws thereby ensuring that the laws are upto date.

if the corporations only follow the laws under which they operate, the situation may worsen. The outdated laws may govern issues which were concering previously but now are irrelevant.

In such a situation, the effect of blindly following these laws may prove to be detrimental to both the society and environment.

For example, if the government does not order to evacuate a nuclear disaster, high energy radiation prone area, like Chernobyl for example, the corporations that are money minded would still continue to operate in such areas.

this would lead to nothing but harm to both environment and the society.

The people there would be affected by cancer and other deadly diseases and it would continue for generations.

if a food based corporation operates there, it would be an alarming concern as the food would be contaminated with radiation. On realising this the sales would plummet and the corporation may shut down for good.

In this way, if the corporations neglect their reasoning and blindly follow the rules the effects would be harmful to everyone including the corporations themselves.

one can argue back and forth on this issue as it is highly controversial.

considering the betterment of the society, social health, environment and keeping in mind the future generations,

an organisation must put aside its selfish needs to make a lot of money and must strive towards contributing to the society and environment in addition to the rules under which they operate.