The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument proposes to bring changes to the operating procedures of the store in order to reduce operating expenses based on several factors. based on the positive results obtained by the changes implemented to one of their stores, the rental store chain plans on doing the same changes to other stores to reduce the decline in profits. While the recommendation seems to be perfectly valid at first, further examination of the same reveals that it lacks cogency and relies on assumptions without supporting evidence.

First, the argument claims that the change in the operating timings of the stores helps reduce operational expenses based on the change experiment on the store at downtown marston. While the assumption appeasrs to be valid, it is by no means the truth. changing of operating timings of a store may tend to affect the profits negatively. For example, the remaining 9 stores may be in different geographies and may have their peak sales from 6PM-10PM. Closing these stores at 6PM based on the outcomes of the store at downtown marston may bprove to be detrimental to the company profits. We can clearly observe that while there may be a positive correlation in the decrease of operating costs and store timings, it is not a cause. The assumption can be strengthened by providing statistical data on the activeness of the stores (sales of the store for a given hour) and then adjusting the timings accordingly.

Second, the assumption to clear the stock of older movies to reduce expenses is filled with flaws. Tendency of customers to watch old movies may vary across geographies. clearly stock of old movies in stores where the majority of the sales is from old movies would be a bad idea. For example, downtown marston would have youngsters as majority of the customers. But another store may be frequently visited by people who watch old movies. Now removing old movies from stock in the second store may not be advisable. The assumption stands weak because of such loopholes.

Third, the assumption is reluctant to raise the prices of the products. This assumption is flawed as we do not have necessary evidence on prevailing market rates. If the stores can increase the price of the product and still maintain a competitive rate compared to their rival they would still be appealing to the customer and it would not negatively affect their popularity. The lack of information regarding the competitors and their price weakens the arguments. given the necessary evidence, one can make a statistically analysis to predict te outcome of the increase in price.

Overall, the argument is poorly reasoned and is not entirely convincing. The argument is filled with flaws and the lack of solid evidence only weakens it further. With answers to certain questions and statistical information like, the timings for each store at which the sales peak, The prevailing market rates of the competitors and other operating information of the stores distributed across geography may help the author strengthen the argument.