The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might seem logical, at first glance, that the owner's claim on the best way of increasing their profit is to decrease the store's operating expenses seem logical. However, if the owner's argument is carefully contemplated, there are some fundamental weaknesses with the owner's reasoning and assumptions making his claim fallacious. In what follows, I will aptly delve into those flaws, and try to see the subject more minutely.

First of all, the owner assumed that there are two options that they can utilize to increase their profit- increasing rental prices and decreasing stores' operating costs. However, if we accept that since Movies Galore's reputation is due to their low rental prices and increasing prices would not be a good idea, the owner's assumption that the best way to increase profit is decreasing operating costs is faulty. It seems that there are more and better ways to increase profit without decreasing stores' operating costs. For instance, they may easily increase their profits by having more and interesting advertisements on billboards and TV commercials, or they can close some of their stores that are not profitable. Hence, the owner's assumption that the best way of increasing profit is decreasing operating expenses does not seem logical and acceptable without proofing is claim and further analyzing alternatives.

Secondly, according to the owner, Marston has decreased its operating expenses by closing the store earlier and eliminating some movies; but it is not argued that if it has increased the profit or not. We don't know if this method concluded increasing the profit over the last month or not. Moreover, by utilizing this method, he has observed that the operating expenses are reduced during the last month, and it is only measured for one month. So, how can we expand this to the other months? Obviously, one month is not enough to argue that closing the store earlier and eliminating some movies will also have the same results in the following months. Hence, even if we accept that the best way to increase profit is decreasing operating expenses, the owner's assumptions the Marston method is useful and advantageous both in the following months and increasing profits.

Last but not least, in the case that we accept the owner's claim that the Marston method is useful and will decrease operating expenses for the long term and will increase the store's profit, his arguments still as some serious weaknesses. By doing exploiting the same methodology, we get similar results in other stores. However, there are no logics provided supporting the author's position. Therefore, this method may or may not be useful in other stores. For example, assume that one of the store's costumers mostly rent videos between 6 and 9 P.M. as a result of which this method would conclude to decreasing the profit. It is possible that in another neighborhood, people are mostly a fan of movies that are released more than five years ago, so how eliminating those movies is the optimal idea for that store? I believe that the owner must come up with different ideas and solutions for different stores in order to increase profit in all of them.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing, but we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without perusing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen his assertion by changing states referred to as the mentioned solutions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible, and the reasoning is faulty.